Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi I'm new to this forum, but i read your post for a long time. I think its the best site on the whole www for 40k .
Ok here is the problem, i wanted to know if the wych weapons halve the opponents WS in both ways because i read they dont but in the new F&A 4.0.1 i read that they do work in both ways.
So anyone know about it?
This is one of those that can be argued either way as you described. I use the minimalist approach when decyphering encrypted Dark Eldar rules so you may not like how I play it.
I only half their WS when the enemy is attacking the wyches - I do not half the enemies WS when I am attacking them. So I play it as a defensive bonus.
Not saying this is exactly how it should be played but rather how we play it at our store. Ultimately, you should go over the rules where you play and figure it out before you play.
i think it would be logical because every combat drug does give 1 advantage but if u play that it dont work in both ways then the +ws roll would give 2 advatanges u hit on 3+ and the enemy would hit on 5+ ...
It depends on whom I'm playing. Most people expect it to work both ways but if there's any confusion I just use the rule that gives me the least advantage (halve the WS only when attacked).
War Record Since Sept 2005
Old Codex 48-20-9 Dark Eldar
New Codex 1-0-0 Dark Eldar
I've always just taken it that the errata is the most up-to-date publication concerning the rules, and the errata says that they work both ways. Heck of a bargain for how much you pay for Wych Weapons, but then there are other bargains in other codices.
Oh, not that one again...Actually it doesn't...the reading that they work both ways is inconsistent with the letter of the errata.and the errata says that they work both ways.
E.g. it requires one to substitute "affected" with "halved", as the "effect" is "halving for attacks made against the wyches".
And there are more problems than just that...
i live in germany and our errata says halves the weapon skill so.....
Tenozuma - The Burninator... I came, I saw, I posted.Originally Posted by Aussie Bogan
Dark Eldar player.
Feel free to PM if you want any advice or help with anything.
Assume everything I say has a "what I think" disclaimer.
Hang out with all the other Aussie and NZ members at The ANZAC Clan.
Need advice, want to talk warhammer or just want a laugh? Come on LO Chat. http://www.librarium-chat.com/
When Wych weapons are used page 9 in the Dark Eldar Codex does state - "No member of a unit fighting the Wyches in close combat counts as being equipped with an additional close combat weapon."
I think that is pretty clear, the telling phrase here is "in close combat" no distinction about who attacks who and nothing about defense and attack. I would interpret the ruling to mean that the Wyches have this ability the moment contact is made with the enemy regardless of who did the contacting.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
So do i, and that errata is evidently a mistranslation. It's not worth the paper that it's printed on. There are gross errors specifically in this particular ruling.i live in germany and our errata says halves the weapon skill so...."Affected" is not defined as halved in the codex.But thats what affected means in the context. Thats how wych weapons affect the enemy. The FAQ makes it fairly clear that it works both ways, not as clear as I'd like but it'll do.
But let's go through the FAQ entry one problem after the other. E.g. why does the FAQ exclusively deal with multiple combats? It has no relevance whatsoever for single combats, so completely regardless of what "effect" means and so on there is no way how one can argue that wych weapons work both ways in a 1vs1 combat. Why is there this restriction to multiple combats if wych weapons are supposed to work both ways? That doesn't seem to make any sense.
And why is there the word "only" in the ruling? That doesn't quite look as if it is supposed to extend the effect of wych weapons. "only when..." is clearly a restrictive phrase.