Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
A quick search didn't turn up anything so I thought I'd point this out.
A monolith says weapons against it always use their unaugmented strength. This quite clearly means that if you combine prism cannons then thats an augment in strength and it doesn't work.
So what happens to your extra ap?
hmm im a cron player and as much as id like to say the strength is unaugmented, im not so sure. it doesn't seem to work the same way, i mean, its two weapons becoming one beam, i don't see why living metal would stop that any better than a single lascannon.
of course its not realism, its rules, so i don't know. but i would say that your ap would stay the same, as in, count the new ap.
Its a single shot, why would living armour affect it?
Living armour is mostly meant to stop things that do 2D6 armour pen. or better, I don't see why the combined shot would not work.
The Chaos dark blade grants +X bonus strength to its user. This is an augment and thus does not work against the monolith.
Combining beams gives one of the beams +Y strength bonus. That looks like an augment to me.
I'm pretty sure you still get to keep the improved ap though so you still have a good chance of taking it out.
so does that mean that power fist doesn't double the users strength vs a monolith? How about a singing spear or wychblade? I mean this isn't making sense, you're upping the strength of the attack b4 it touches the monolith, how can the monolith effect things that happen prior to the monolith coming into contact with it
Last edited by xinsanityx; January 3rd, 2007 at 06:52.
The answer revealed...[...] Similarly weapons that get additional Armour Penetration Dice (chainfists, monstrous creatures or melta weapons) do not get the extra dice against the Monolith. Ordnance weapons still roll 2d6 and choose the highest.
- Just love that maki! -
Witchblades and Singing Spears no longer triple the users strength so thats a non-issue. Powerfists shouldn't hurt it but thats under heavy debate (and will not be debated here).
Basically I'm saying to everyone that a pair of prisms isn't a guaranteed monolith kill. Only slightly better than a meltagun. It would be better to shoot each prism cannon seperately at the monolith than combine for +1 ap.
EDIT: What answer just got revealed?
- Just love that maki! -
Living Metal also states that weapons used against it always use their unaugmented strength.
You probably have one of the older printings of the necron codex. It happened all the time in the power fist debate.
So prism cannons aren't good against monoliths. To kill them you need either fire dragons, hawks or wraithguard. 3 units is still better than what most other races have to kill it.
I argue the point that the fire prisms are not augmenting their strength in any way. They are combining to become a new weapon.
If you twin link any weapon, it has re rolls no matter what, this isnt an augmentation, its a different weapon to a single version of itself.
Its another grey area that can easily be solved by rolling for it. If I was playing as necrons Id let you use the higher strength.