Welcome to Librarium Online!
I read the other day someone said that Striking Scorpion exarchs with scorpion claw are not that good because if you cause casualties with the regular scorps then your opponent will just take them from the exarchs 2" arch. I was under the impression that an exarch was not an independant character with a 2" arch but worked on base contact.....its true they could take them away from base contact with the exarch i guess. If that is true then space marine Vet. Serg. would have a 2" arch and power fists would be almost as pointless because they would never attack.
Anyone care to elaborate on that for me?
They're wrong in part. The exarch is a member of the squad, so his kill zone is the same as units.
But if your opponent can remove all models from contact with models that are 2" or less from your exarch then he wouldn't get to attack (since there wouldn't be any enemy within 2" at his initiative step).
A model only have its own kill zone when it is an independent character.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
Got ya, makes sense now.