Welcome to Librarium Online!
I've seen a few posts stating that broodlords cannot get fleet of foot, as they are independent characters. I have, perhaps erronously, interpreted the rules as such:
Rulebook (pg 50) Independent character movement: "characters follow the movement rules for models of their type . . ."
Tyranid 4th ed. Codex; pg 36 Broodlord "a product of continual evolution of the Genestealer race . . ."
Putting them together, a Broodlord is a type of Genestealer, and as such is allowed the movement benefits of being a model of that type. . .
Let me know what you think about my interpretation of the rules.
The first passage you quote is indeed a good interpretation of the rules.
The second passage, however, is fluff. Not rules. It's a pretty common mistake, when people take fluff and use that to justify rules - but unfortunately, it simply can't work like that.
Just as example, I could look at the Genestealer fluff entry, and I read - "...undermine potential prey world through infiltration." Fluff wise, I could claim that now my Genestealers should all be able to Infiltrate.
Fluff arguements just don't work.
The Broodlord would only be able to use Fleet of Foot if it was actually stated in the rules of his entry, of if he had access to some form of upgrade that gives him the special rule.
As he has neither, he can't use Fleet of Foot, regardless of what the fluff might say.
Human "a product of continual evolution of the monkey race . . ."
Sadly- evolution means I can no longer swing from trees with formidable agility nor peel bananas with my toes (without making a huge mess). For the Broodlord it means he can no longer Fleet.
No more NG spearmen, thanks! Now I need some pump-wagons!
Yes I must agree that the Broodlord cannot fleet of claw.
However I am curious can the Broodlord scuttle. If he has a brood of Genestealers that are scuttlers can he scuttle too. I don't think that he can but it would be nice to know for sure and what people think.
Unless it specifically states that the option is available for the model (such as veteran skills for SM characters in Command Squads, or Autarchs in squads with Exarch skills), then the character will not gain the benefits of the squad it is attached to. That's how I see it.
Darn that fluff, now my Broodlord has to wait a turn to engage. . . Oh well, just prolonging the inevitable defeat of those unfortunate enough to enter into his sites.. Thanks for the clarification.
If a Broodlord is joined by stealers without infiltrate the Broodlord loses its infiltrate ability (though this would not matter as the Broodlord has to start the game with min 5 stealer retinue).
So if a Broodlord started with a 5 man retinue and all 5 of the retinue died, the Broodlord would revert to independent IC status, which means he could join another unit at will, if it joined a unit of normal Stealers he would lose his infiltrate ability and the Stealers would lose the fleet of claw ability (because it also falls under the rules on page 74) all in all a crap state of affairs as you would have a unit that can move 6" and not fleet.
Hope that helps.
Ok what? Broodlord's stop their ret's from fleeting yes, but a broodlord is never stopped from infiltrating with his ret. re-read the infiltrate rule under the broodlords entry of your codex. Remember, the codex always over rules the rule book. What your saying is that once his ret dies, any unit he joins is then not his ret and so lose's the infiltrate ability, but that doesnt make sense either because infiltrate takes place before the game starts, so this would never happen! Now ive got a headache!
And if your unlucky enough to not get the first move in a game, you can still strike in the first turn. Providing of course that the other player moves a unit toward your broodlord and his ret in an attempt to take them out. This is where scything talons on your stealers comes in. Your forced to take a small squad to keep out of LOS, so take the ST's, the extra rending attack per model works wonders!