Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I assume that brand spankin' new Necrons don't get the gauss effect (auto hit on 6) in cc since they are not firing their weapons? Looking back at the Necron Codex, it doesn't actually say under the gauss weapon section that they don't, however. What's the rule?
"Gauss" is a special rule for shooting only, so as said, no, you don't get the bonus in close combat.
No reason to edit your post because you posted the wrong rule anyways, but please don't post what rules do. If people are responding to you, then chances are they know what the rule in question states. Just the name of the rule - i.e., "Gauss" or "Gauss weapons" - is quite good enough. Thanks.
First - I havn`t posted what excacly gauss weapons do, second - I`m quite sure I`ve posted the right rules. Anyway we have not much to talk about since you`ve deleted part of what I have written. What makes me curious is why you have it deleted - cause I havn`t broken any rules. Don`t you think you could correct me ( if I was wrong of course - but I wasn`t since I had necron codex on my knees writing the post (sic!) ) and that would add something to the discussion?No reason to edit your post because you posted the wrong rule anyways, but please don't post what rules do.
Gauss = shooty.
D-fields = CC, but only on armor.
In short, your high toughness models are totally safe from gauss/d-fields in CC.
Second, you pretty much did post exactly what they do, and it's safe to assume that if someone is going to be participating in a discussion based on what they do, then they're going to know it. If they don't know what the rule is, then they a) shouldn't be part of the discussion in question or b) go look it up themselves.
On second thought I don't know exactly how I feel about this rule.
The 40k rulebook describes close combat as fighting with melee weapons and point blank discharges of weapons.
A liberal interpretation of the rules could suggest that the gauss weapon rule would still allow auto-wounds in CC, regardless of toughness, because the gauss weapon could still be discharged.
However, I think it can safely be assumed that in CC with armor based units that gauss rules would not be in affect, because there are d-fields that specifically make assault attacks glance.
Short answer: Nope. Gauss rules don't apply to CC.
Long answer: In the realm of the theoretical, an interpretation could exist supporting gauss effects in CC.
This answer could further be supported by arguing that d-fields are only in the codex for units that don't have gauss weapons [flayed ones, scarabs], and that implies that gauss still works in CC. Even on armor.
Problem there is getting anyone to buy it. I know I won't be trying to make the case in games that I should get gauss rules in CC. But it could be worthy of the discourse here, maybe the right person will read it and in some new edition, this is one more thing that will be defined clearly.
But the OP is right, it doesn't say anything about CC or ranged in the gauss rule.
Karmoon: "well.. any kore = good kore" 12:35pm PST 23 May 2007
but i didn't want to debate myself on something i didn't believe in anyway.
i just wanted to throw it out there.
but sake of comical arguing, i would say there is no reason to put d-fields on immortals or warriors no matter how you you think gauss works in CC!
personally i just want summoning orbs!
Last edited by double.bind; February 2nd, 2007 at 05:01.