Welcome to Librarium Online!
According to the Orks FAQ, loota's can take not only take weapons options, but their transport option too. This means that, apparently quite legally, I can loot from either a devastator or tactical squad, and therefore take a drop pod. Am i right in thinking this? Or was the way in which the drop pod was listed (i.e. not in the unit description but at the beginning of the army list) a way to stop me doing this.
The thought of deep striking orkses is just too good to pass up!
If you were playing me, I'd allow you to use the looted Drop Pods.
However, some people will read it as saying while you can use transport options for the unit, it's not necessarily an option as it's detailed in a different part of the codex, not listed under the options for the unit itself, like you said.
For tourneys and the likes, it'd be best to check with the organisers/your opponents. Me? I'd definitely let you use it.
i think it'd be an incredibly interesting orkish thing. i dont know how everyone would respond but personally i'de say that if you modeled if appropriately orky then i would be fine with it.
but i dont think all people would allow it, maybe saying that its more wargear then a transport. i dont know. but i think it'de be realy cool to see.
But don't let me discourage you! Go, my green friend, and get an official ruling on this! If it's possible, then I think this is a GENIUS idea!
Tyranids: 2500 pts
Imperial Guard: 1000 pts
Witch Hunters: 1000 pts
Droppods are a special SM rule so technicly you can't even use em, in friendly games it fully depends on your opponent, at tournaments and such, well kis em bye bye
Well my thinking was that they were a transport option for all the space marine units listed, and seeing as the loota's entry says 'Lootas are allowed to use the options of one of the following squad types', why not.
Besides, i've nearly finished making one (pics when it's finished, should be a couple of days), and it looks pretty good sofar!
i think this is worth pursueing. i would always allow it in a friendly game, as long as you have the model.
I've had the same idea and it works very well.
May it work the same magic for you
Crimson Fists 0/0/0
Dwarfs 0/0/0 (work in progress)