Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hello all. I have a query regarding the animus vitae: why do you not get to use it's special rules versus the like of marines and necrons?
I don't have my codex with me, but I remember it saying something along the lines of: If you win combat and force your opponent to fall back by him failing his leadership check, then you get to roll for prisoners for all the casualities you caused in that combat. If you manage to catch them with a sweeping advance, you take them all as prisoners.
If that's correct why can't we take marines and the like as prisoners?
I just need this cleared up please. Cheers.
Against normal space marines you can't have a sweeping advance. So you can't take'em as prisoners, and necrons can't be taken as a prisoner, fluff wise no one can get anything from necrons it all leaves. Hope that helps.
Ok. I get what your saying about sweeping advances with marines, but even if you still beat them in combat and they stay put (so, no sweeping advance) should you not get to roll for prisoners from the casualties you inflicted? Yes, your both still locked in combat but I would have thought you'd get to roll for them. Maybe not.
i may be wrong but if you force them to break and you dont sweeping advance wouldn't you still roll 4+ for all the dead smurfs?
A happy Winter-een-mas to all, and to all a good game.
(><)This is Bunny. Copy Bunny and this message into your signature to help him on his way to world Domination!
Yes you would still get to roll for space marines, but first you must make them fall back and than you would still need a 4+. Given space marines high leadership it's pretty hard to do.
With Necrons, at our GW shop. we can capture Necrons for holding purposes that count against Phase Out. When the Necrons 'Phase Out' then you lose the prisoners.
As for the animus, I really dont have a problem with taking Marines as prisoners. The animus for me isnt that hard to activate when using the 2nd rule of rolling 4+ for fallen casualties aftera fall-back. I think this rule is forgotten and people get too "lazy" with the whole "if I cant sweep I cant take prisoners" thing. I've taken Librarians and Chaplains and all kinds of marines this way - especially with grotesques and their autofall back rule.
The only time I dont take the animus is in my Coven lists - the Haemy dont need the strength.
So my Archons and Archites carry it most of the time - when I need points it is usually the first to go however.
I believe that the Individual Necrons themselves Phase out, when they are too damaged...
The whole army phases as well, when they reach a certain intolerable amount of damage, that they beomce inoperable as a unit.
This is in line with the fluff, and would explain the FAQ saying that Necrons cannot be captured... each have individual phase teleporters that activate if they recieve irrepairable damage.
minimalism is the key.