Welcome to Librarium Online!
Is it worth having more than 5 incubi in one army. To me these guys are priceless if used correctly, yesterday i played my friend's Necrons and i used a unit of 8 along with Drazhar, and my Archon kitted with Incubi gear and these guys tore through more than half his army. Granted I did get VERY lucky that he didn't shoot down my H.Q. Raider as I had 5 on the board and he didn't know which one was it. And by the time it was around 3rd turn it was too late. So to sum it up is it worth it? Does anybody else use more than just 5?
Play enough games and you will realize five is more than sufficient. When I get the charge, I want to kill enough so they cant get many attacks back on me without them losing enough to fall back. That way my guys wont be left in the open on his turn. Now five incubi are already pushing on that limit. I have wiped whole squads of death company, terminators and death guards with a lord and five incubi. Test out different capacities and see what works best for you.
anyway, i also field 5 incubi with the lord, its enough and they're not exactly the cheapest unit around.
"I have seen you humans, trying to forge an Empire in the name of a corpse"
As for incubi, in 1k games usually a player can get away with 4-5. Enough to cover the requirements but not enough to overkill, considering the lord isnt very well tooled up in 1k games especially with incubi retinue. Overall a unit consisting of a lord, with 4 incubi on a raider in a 1k force shouldnt cost more then 250 points on average
In 1500 and 2k games, usually 5-6 incubi are the average for every raider HQ, as in 1.5k battles the enemy MEQs have sergeants with powr weapons/fists, and are better tooled up for CC so more incubi are needed. A 6 man unit with a lord will be able to deal with almost any unit of MEQs without taking too many casualties in return.
Taking more then 6 isnt too recommended unless you know that the enemy will be using MEQ units consisting of more then 10 men, because there is a chance that you will anihilate the enire unit and get stranded in the middle of the field with nothing but a D6 consolidation move available to you. And after seeing your HQ wipe out his entire MEQ unit, your opponent will become very desperate trying to gun them down before they assault anything else. And since incubi dont have fleet, their movement poses a problem sometimes.
I don't hide what is in my raiders either, but by the rules it is allowed and shouldn't be disencouraged, you even could fluffwise, it doesn't matter if it's open topped, if it's going at 200mph, who is going to be able to see the contents? So, in friendlies, it's always good to be sporting and such, but you should never feel like you have to tell everyone what is in each raider.
I never use more than an minimal dracon with 6 incubi in real games, and usually only use 5.
Tenozuma - The Burninator... I came, I saw, I posted.Originally Posted by Aussie Bogan
Dark Eldar player.
Feel free to PM if you want any advice or help with anything.
Assume everything I say has a "what I think" disclaimer.
Hang out with all the other Aussie and NZ members at The ANZAC Clan.
Need advice, want to talk warhammer or just want a laugh? Come on LO Chat. http://www.librarium-chat.com/
I do it because I use a "rhino rush" Emp's Children army and your opponent not knowing whats in each rhino is a big advantage. It's legal but if it meant somebody not playing me because i did that then sure i would not do it and let him know whats in each rhino (or raider), but I usually play my friends and they either don't care or do the same thing so it's cool.
When I used to use them they were in a team of 5 usually in a portal list with 2 HQ's. The portal gave them the protection and the range they needed to hit their target - usually when I started them on the board they seemed to attract alot of attention and rarely made it to the front lines. Remember, they are just as slow as grotesques - once you plop them down they better be getting into assault and not be left stranded afterwards. They were average for me but they usually cost too much for me and now I play Wych Cult.
I would recommend playing only 5 and it always made sense to me to put them with the 2nd HQ unit which consisted with a naked Dracon (and some giving him an agoniser for high toughness creatures). I would put the Archon with the wyches - this allows you to either use the Archon with the wyches or he could separate from the wyches any time and the wyches could easily function without him. My favorite setup is an Archon with wyches with the 12" charge - they are 1st turn charging threat and could strike anywhere on the board. The Archon is one mean dude and the shadowfield allows him to fight solo against the right targets - the flexibility allows more strategy.
My friend plays a VERY heavy Incubi army - me personally will probably never play with Incubi again because of him.
His 2 incubi squad list includes:
Something around 900+ points on these two raiders and he will play them in 1500 and in 2000.
For the record: I have beaten him twice with my wych cult. I have ingrained in his mind that wyches>incubi. A single squad of my wyches tore apart his Archon squad and Drazhar (of course my wyches got the charge and had the +1 WS drug). Just nasty that I was hitting him on 3's and reduced the incubi number of attacks to 1. My Archite just ripped his army apart and killed his Dracon and Incubi in 1 round with 0 wounds back. But its the general, not the units though I thought it was interesting to see how the wyches would do against these so called "body guards":ninja:
Last edited by KwiKwag; February 11th, 2007 at 04:12.
You won't ever need more than 5-6 and that is with Drazhar. They can kill almost anything in the game before they can fight back even. More than that number would be wasted overkill. Drazhar and your lord (if tooled up right) can take out a tactical squad without the help of the other incubi. It would be much smarter to invest those 100 or so points in another sniper squad over somthing like that.
An big incubi HQ is useful when you are certain that they will make it into CC, wether its due to cover or small battlefield its up to the player's decision. To add on to that, a big incubi HQ is useful when an oponent has large squads of MEQ units consisting of more then 10 men, i.e necron warrirors, chaos marines and ect. Other then that, they overkill the enemy and get stranded in the middle of the field and take over talos's job of absorbing fire.
For enemy MEQ squads of 10 men and less, 4 incubi and a 90 point medium tooled lord is more then enough to destroy it. Having more then 6 incubi in an army, and I am saying this from exprerience, is a big waste. I am not even going to discuss 2 HQs made up of incubi, because thats just rediculous unless you are playing on a 2' by 2' field against a MEQ opponent.
As for every incubi there are 2 wyches, the only problem is their 6+ save that they roll when the raider is shot down. So incubi do a far better job surviving the crash, this is probably the primary weakness of the wych cults as 90% of their losses are due to raider crashes and entanglement.
The MAIN reason why people use incubi is mostly because of fluff.
Do they make your army look good? Yes
Do they make your army as good in battle as it looks? No
Does having cool looking incubi make new players jealous? Yes
Does having cool looking incubi make experienced players jealous? No
And the main question:
Do they pay for their points when used against 75% of 40k armies? NO
Last edited by WraithGuardian; February 11th, 2007 at 21:22.
The amount of Incubi you should field I believe is based on 2 factors, probably each is equally important –
1) Can you adjust your mindset to play virtually 2 separate types of forces within your army?
2) And can you match your concentrated force against an equally stubborn opponent.
By this I mean the majority of DE is fleet of foot and lightly armoured, and most DE players accept
and concentrate on this, but the Talos and Incubi are heavily armoured and slow. This can in effect create 2 separate armies within the one and will be a challenge to use well, not impossible but a challenge as you switch between mindsets.
Such a specific force as Incubi really do well against a specific enemy only and can you guarantee that this matching of forces will be so. If you can, then take as many as you want and try them out, you will soon find out with trial and error what is “too” many. By concentrating too much killing power in one small spot you will rapidly have nothing available to kill.
But a good way to effectively use them and gain the “majority” armour rule is to take an HQ composition of Archon/Drachon, 5 Incubi and 2 warriors with splinter cannons. The warriors will gain the armour save of the Incubi because they are the majority and the 2 cannons will increase the flexibility of the Retinue enormously if you are stranded out in the open. The Incubi should always be armed with a punisher to maximise their close combat skills and similarly the warriors are tooled up with cannons and the Lord with shadowfield, agoniser and whatever.
And of course the obligatory Raider choice will result in a lot of points spent on 1 unit so most of your strategy will be based on getting them safely into close combat. Again the 2 mindset plan could bring you undone here, 1 plan for your uber HQ and another plan for the rest of your army.
If you feel that you are up to the challenge then go for it, it’s not my playing style but it might be yours!
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.