skimmers and glances - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    132
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    -13 (x0)

    skimmers and glances

    rules on pages 69 and page 71

    if your fireing at a skimmer and it doesnt move over 6" can you score a penitrating hit

    are the rules on page 71 regarding skimmers alway moving 6" on its previouse turn applied in shooting and assulting or are they limited to close combat and assulting

    in turn 1 before any movement what are skimmers considered moveing or stationary.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by mr_smoke View Post
    if your fireing at a skimmer and it doesnt move over 6" can you score a penitrating hit
    The Skimmers Moving Fast rule only applies if the skimmer moves over 6". So what do you think happens if it doesn't move over 6"?

    Quote Originally Posted by mr_smoke View Post
    are the rules on page 71 regarding skimmers alway moving 6" on its previouse turn applied in shooting and assulting or are they limited to close combat and assulting
    Do they specify shooting the skimmer, or do they keep it general? Rulebook not in easy access.

    Quote Originally Posted by mr_smoke View Post
    in turn 1 before any movement what are skimmers considered moveing or stationary.
    Stationary, because.. they haven't moved.

  4. #3
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    Skimmers always count as moving more than 6" for the purposes of rolling to hit them in combat.

    They only get glancing hits only if they physically moved more than 6".


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  5. #4
    Senior Member KhlauKolash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    salt lake
    Posts
    324
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    37 (x1)

    [quote=Rork;888299]Skimmers always count as moving more than 6" for the purposes of rolling to hit them in combat.

    They only get glancing hits only if they physically moved more than 6".[/quote


    agreed, they count as moving more than 6 for the purpose of CC.

  6. #5
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by KhlauKolash View Post
    agreed, they count as moving more than 6 for the purpose of CC.
    But only for hitting. Hits don't get downgraded to Glancing unless the Skimmer actually moved over 6".

  7. #6
    Son of LO tarzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,023
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Lost Nemesis View Post
    But only for hitting. Hits don't get downgraded to Glancing unless the Skimmer actually moved over 6".
    RAW does saw otherwise, but I'll simply leave it at that. Not trying to dredge that up again.

    And for shooting, if it didn't move, penetrate away.
    Last edited by tarzen; March 15th, 2007 at 23:26. Reason: left out "move"
    My armies:
    16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
    7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
    6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
    4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
    1,500+ of Legion (just started)

  8. #7
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by tarzen View Post
    RAW does saw otherwise, but I'll simply leave it at that. Not trying to dredge that up again.
    Only if RAW says something akin to "the Skimmer counts as moving over 6" when in CC".... otherwise, it just "counts as moving," which wouldn't downgrade any hits. I don't have the rulebook on me at the moment, so... *shrug*

  9. #8
    I Endure Perturabo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Atop Zhar Naggrund, surveying my domain.
    Age
    29
    Posts
    660
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    54 (x2)

    The rulebook says that a skimmer that is not immobilised always counts as moving more than 6" in its previous turn. It seems to me it means a mobile skimmer can only be hit in cc on a 6. The section under Skimmers moving fast says any hits are downgraded, so RAW would seem to imply that cc hits can only glance. However, that paragraph is in the shooting section, so I don't know if they intended cc hits to be downgraded.

    Now I'm confused.:cry:

  10. #9
    Son of LO tarzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,023
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x8)

    That's why I didn't really want to get into it.

    Briefly, in the assault section to hit skimmers, it says that skimmers always counts as having moved more than 6" in their previous turn. Ergo, they can only ever be glanced in CC.

    This doesn't apply to the shooting as it explicitly refers to only CC assaults directed at them.

    Shooting allows you to hit them as normal, and they must have moved more than 6" in their previous turn to actually get the benefits of SMF.

    So shooting=had to move or you can score pens
    CC=counts as having moved, always glancing.
    My armies:
    16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
    7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
    6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
    4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
    1,500+ of Legion (just started)

  11. #10
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by tarzen View Post
    That's why I didn't really want to get into it.

    Briefly, in the assault section to hit skimmers, it says that skimmers always counts as having moved more than 6" in their previous turn. Ergo, they can only ever be glanced in CC.

    This doesn't apply to the shooting as it explicitly refers to only CC assaults directed at them.

    Shooting allows you to hit them as normal, and they must have moved more than 6" in their previous turn to actually get the benefits of SMF.

    So shooting=had to move or you can score pens
    CC=counts as having moved, always glancing.
    Makes sense to me, thanks for the clarification.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts