Welcome to Librarium Online!
First, a question: Imagine a team of three crisis suits with a single shield drone. If that unit gets hit with, say, ordinance, and takes 2 wounds, can you take 2 I saves? If it gets hit with one wound, and you take the I save and fail, does the shield drone have to take the wound and die or can you give it to a suit?
I guess the question is - does a shield drone give the unit an I save or just itself?
Second part, if a shield drone only gives itself an I save, why not just take a gun drone for 2/3 of the cost? It is a disposable wound for those insta-kill shots, and it gets to shoot back while it lives.
I find the shield drone rules to be very confusing...
ok, now I haven't played as tau in about three years, but in the Medusa V campaign, I played a lot of them with my marines. It is my opinion that Shield Drones in that case are the way to go. They were very effective on the battle field and protected his team, for one turn at least. If you want Gun Drones, go for the Drone Team as a fast. I've played with them before and I loved them. I was more accurate with the Drones than with my marines, even before the rerolls. It's overall the best way to go as it protects your characters, and the Gun Drones would not be in large enough numbers to really have a good chance to do some damage and pin the enemy.
Secondly, Gun Drones have a different save. Mixed Armour rules state that wounds must be allocated to the majority armour save - if you have more Crisis Suits than you do Gun Drones, then they'll not be eligable for wounds until all the Crisis Suits have been assigned one. Imagine an Ordnance Shot landing on the unit - each wound instant kills a Suit, which removes his Gun Drones with him....
The key to understanding Shield Drones is making yourself familiar with the Majority Toughness and Mixed Armour rules found in the BGB. Once you have those down, you'll realize the power of Shield Drones.
So you're saying with a single shield drone in the team, even if I take 2 AP2 wounds, I can still roll 2 dice for the I saves? And if I make both, great, if I fail at least one, the shield drone has to die?
If this is the case then I will definitely use shield drones. But... If you can only roll one I save and the other wound automatically falls to a crisis suit with no I save possible, they're not as good. Still worth it I think, but a bit harder to justify the cost.
The second Plasma Wound would need to be assigned to a Crisis Suit, which can't save against it.
Hits are rolled against toughness and some will become saves. Only failed saves become wounds except when no saves are possible.
I am pretty sure I already know the answer but I want to make sure - It is true that if you take an Invulnerable save from a shield drone and fail it that the drone must be the model to die, correct? This would mean that in the case of a single plasma hit, when there are weapons on the table capable of insta-kill, you might want to choose not to take your I save and instead give that wound to the crisis suit (which would survive) rather than risk losing your shield drone.
Last edited by ZenGamer; March 23rd, 2007 at 18:21.
Also the reason for taking shield drones. Now imagine the tau command squad is in CC...omg...NO WAY! Well what are they going to do, out shoot them, well maybe if they are IMP...but they are in CC. This is something that got my friend bad, the gun drones cannot take the attacks for the commander if the attacks are being directed towards him. Shield drones are meant to take the wounds, with the 4+ Inv save, the gun drones just sit there and look pretty in CC. The shield drones, as my friend found out too, are very useful when Earthshaker rounds are being dropped on you.
Again, check the Mixed Armour rules on page 76 of the BGB. Step 3 - 'Apply the wounding hits to the majority armour type first.'
am pretty sure I already know the answer but I want to make sure - It is true that if you take an Invulnerable save from a shield drone and fail it that the drone must be the model to die, correct? This would mean that in the case of a single plasma hit, when there are weapons on the table capable of insta-kill, you might want to choose not to take your I save and instead give that wound to the crisis suit (which would survive) rather than risk losing your shield drone.
no the BGB states you must apply unsaved wounds in a manner which allows you to remove a whole model where possible.
So in this case the unsaved wound must be applied to the shield drone 1W as it removes a whole model and not to the suit with more than 1 wound and thus resulting in you NOT applying the wound in a manner that removes a whole model.