Welcome to Librarium Online!
I have a question involving the item that is in the wargear, I do not recall the exact name of it and my friend is borrowing my codex. But it is the item then allows the lord to place it down, and create a portal that allows reserves to come in from that spot without fear of scattering. I don't believe its specified in the codex, but are Talos's allowed to come in from that portal or is it limited only to infantry?
The webway portal is what i believe you are talking about does create a way portal in the middle of the battlefield and there is no scatter it is also specified in the codex and costs 50 points it can be given to anyone with access to the dark eldar armoury. Whats more talos' are alowed to come through it as is everything else in the dark eldar codex though there is no point with some things.
You cannot do anything about it(apart from try to blockade it) and if your opponent really wanted he could start with one model on the board and even if you killed him the portal would open and he would then be able to bring the rest of his army on through it.
The web way portal is what you are looking at! Yes the talos and anything else as long as it's a dark eldar unt can come out of the web way portal or wwp in the same way as reserves would come but they don't come in from your table edge, but from the web way.
So to deploy it you can't move or shoot with the unit or model that is deploying it for that turn. Reserves that are coming from the wwp have to wait until the portal is deploy to come into play. The only thing is don't let the wwp get blocked by enemy troops or your units in the wwp can't come out.
Most people use a Heamculus to carry the wwp or a sybrite in a larger warrior squad. Once deployed your reserves can come out in the same way normal reserves would come, and they have to be deploy in base to base contact with the portal.
The talos is almost always in the wwp for most wwp armies, it helps to over come the slowness of the talos. Wyches and warp beasts are also commanly in the wwp to protected them from shooting and so they can get a charge into combat right away.
Hope that, that helped.
Prey they don't take you alive
Thanks. That helps me alot. But now i have to find 50 more points ><
One other question, this one has to deal with Raiders though. Lets say...I have my lord on a raider. And the lord has the wwp. If I were to turbo boost on the first turn, can my lord and his entourage disembark, and then lay our the wwp?
I won't give my lord the wwp. I would never give him the wwp if he has a retinue, because they would be in the wwp so they can come out and get into combat right away post-hast.
Most people don't put the wwp in raiders because you can easly be shoot down and pinned for the next turn and than it's really late in the game by the time you get the wwp open.
Prey they don't take you alive
the term "turbo boost" is only associated with Reaver Jet bikes and will give them double the movement.
So that leaves us with the Raider with embarked troops, this can move no more than 12"(note that this is movement done in the movement phase) to allow troops to disembark, deploy 2" from any point of the raider and then "fleet of foot" the distance rolled for on a dice (D6). These troops can not shoot as they swapped their shooting ability for fleeting (note that this is movement done in the shooting phase) but can assault, resulting in another 6" movement (note that this is movement done in the assault phase).
The deployment of the webway portal is exclusive of moving or shooting, so its either move/shoot or deploy the portal, not both in the same turn. If you understand all this confusing movement you will see that it is a risky proposition to allow your expensive Lord a chance to be shot at before the portal is deployed but by all means try this method out and be your own judge. Most experienced players will not risk the destruction of the portal carrier before deployment because that will deny your reserves from ever entering play, bad - very bad.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
The problem with doing that is, that WWP wouldn't be able to be dropped until the 3rd turn (1st turn 24' move, 2nd turn dismount, 3rd turn drop), which is a significant delay.One other question, this one has to deal with Raiders though. Lets say...I have my lord on a raider. And the lord has the wwp. If I were to turbo boost on the first turn, can my lord and his entourage disembark, and then lay our the wwp?
My golden rules for the WWP are, the sooner it's dropped the better; and keep your carriers in or behind cover as much as possible!!!
If you've only got one, and the unit carrying it gets shot dead (or is assaulted!), you're screwed. So you'd better drop it right away, preferably behind or in some woods, as close to the front of your own deployment zone the better.
If you've got 2 (and I realise this is only good in 1000+ point games), even better. You can drop one right away to have some piece of mind, and move the other and drop it in the second turn, so as to try to grab a spot closer to the enemy lines.
In bigger games where you can take 3... oh boy, by turn 2 you can usually hit any spot on the board. 3 WWP in a 2000 point game is so worth it, it's not funny. Think about it! This forces them into a defensive frame of mind right away- hence, you're limiting what they can do, and taking the initiative into your own hands. And with DE, being proactive is much better than being reactive.
Does your character need to be disembarked before he/she can deploy the wwp or can you do it while in a Raider?
Ain't necessarily a good idea to do it, though.The question has come up a lot. Yes you can deploy the wwp from inside of a raider.
You REALLY don't want Raider squads to be NOT moving and NOT shooting, unless you begin the Raider in cover, drop the portal off the Raider, and then keep the Raider squad as a rapid reaction force to assault with whatever comes out of the webway.
In any case, I find Raider squads are much better coming OUT of the WWP, what with the practically non-existent armour saves we have and the very real possibility of losing a squad (or having it decimated and THEN pinned!) due to a Raider crash.