Welcome to Librarium Online!
Since I don't know the english translations for Harlies equipments,it becomes hard for me to search for an answer in other post ç_ç
I'll open a new thread...just hope it's not going to be the 35th time this thing gets discussed.
The seer upgrade from the Harlies...how does it work against indirect fire, such as Whirlwinds, Defilers etc etc... ?
Is the opponent still forced to roll for the sight check ? I've always considered it a "distance check" rather then a sight one >_>
everything I've seen regarding the "Veil of Tears" points to the fact that EVERYTHING needs to be in TARGETING DISTANCE (ie it's not just about SEEING the harlies, it's about having some rough idea of where they even are). So things like Tau smart missiles, IG barrages, etc all need to make the rolls for the VoT.
BTW: The name of the model in question in English is "Shadowseer", and the power is "Veil of Tears", just for your own future reference. :yes:
Baby, when I'm the voice of reason, we've got problems!~artificerSomeone should stop
Jervis "let's make it easy enough for a 3 year old to play" Johnson
before he turns 40k into checkers~anon
as art said, the power erases the harleys from the mind, it doesnt block LOS so yes it works normally against indirect fire
Everything you have been told is a lie!
Ok with that point cleared I'll bring up another question with Harlies and their Shadowseer which occurred to me while making another post. In the codex it describes her viel of tears as a psychic power that functions like a Warlocks. Now Warlock powers being counted as minor, Sisters of Battle are able to ignor such effects normally (Destructor would normally have no effect on sisters of battle).
Now I propose the question of are Sisters of Battle able to ignor the effects of viel of tears due to their immunity against Minor Psychic Powers or will they still need to roll for spotting distance? If the answer is they do not need to roll for the test then it would seem that heavy bolters will still be quite a threat for the Harlequin squad. Over to the rest of you and your oppinions.
[=NOTE=] Scratch that....it seems the new codex may not describe the Warlock Powers as minor. I could be wrong as I;ve merely had a cursory glance. However the question will still stand as I'm interested to some oppinions anyways.
I would have to say that your note is correct. W arlock powers aren't described as minor psychic powers and neither is the veil of tears, they just dont need a psychic test to go off. Any ability that negates minor psychic powers would have no effect on either.
Warlock powers have never been described as 'minor'.
In fact, everything I've read talked about the disciplined eldar mind and that being why the eldar don't get them...classic "advantage" being a downgrade like the sealed crew compartments of our transports with the new access hatch rules.
I think Mr. H you are falling pray to a common mistake, reading into rules what they don't say because it makes sense to you and you want it to be that way.
It happens to me all the time. I read that eldar jetbikes "always" get a 6" move and I think that they get to move 30" off a turbo boost...I was wrong and I think you are wrong this time too.
Didn't it get settled on something similar that th SoB's immunity didn't work but there was some sort of saving throw that did?
Good luck and have fun.
"Orcs are what happens when Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles grow old and bitter."
Indirect fire still has to measure range as normal.. So yeah as others have said it has to be able to see them.. Same if you were firing indirect under night fight rules, it just ignores LoS (which yes is odd with Night fight but remember indirect fire isnt *blind* as they need to know WHERE the enemy is still)
i actually posted this same topic in the rules forum a couple weeks ago, the consensus seemed to be that no SoB don't get their 5+ save from it because the veil of tears power does not target them, nor is the veil of tears power an area of effect.
IMO the sisters should be able to get their 5+ save against all psychic powers that have an effect on them, not just ones that target them or include them in an AoE, but thats just my $.02. Maybe in the new codex that will change
Last edited by xinsanityx; April 10th, 2007 at 23:04.