Welcome to Librarium Online!
My Necron-playing friend states that a weapon doesn't get to add any dice to it's armor penetration roll. He said that you only use the weapon's strength. But that would mean there is no weapon that can penetrate the Monolith's armor.
I'm pretty sure he's wrong...any comments?
Your friend is incorrect, and is shafting you.
You roll d6+strength to the penetration roll of a Monolith *always* ... it simply nullifies the following:
Normally with rending weapons on vehicles, you roll to hit, then roll to pen. If you roll a 6 on the s+d6 pen roll, you get to roll ANOTHER d6. So, a s4 critter that rends with a 6 and rolls a 5 gets a 15 and penetrates, say, a landraider.
With the Monolith, you can't do this, and so unless a rending weapon has a strength of 8, it can't even glance a monolith, since it would simply roll the Strength+d6, and get no extra in the event of a 6 on pen roll
Normally, monstrous creatures w/out power fists or other mods roll Strength+2d6 for armor penetration. They only get to roll d6+S for the monolith, so a Carnifex without toxin sacs is rolling 9+d6 instead of 9+2d6.
Meltaguns roll 2d6+S for penetration rolls, they don't get this
Eldar wraithcannons and lance weapons still operate normally, so lance weapons treat the monolith as armor 12 (they just wouldn't get extra dice if they had any, though they don't), and the wraithguns on the wraithguard or w/e it is still always pen/glance (I don't know the rule well) on a 4+ ... eldar own monoliths, heh
Hope that is clear and helpful.
Nids & Guard
GMail = MVBrandt
Power fists also, don't double Strength. Basically, everything is unmodified. But ordnance still rolls 2D6 and chooses highest.
MVBrandt! Never got a chance to say thank you about the 36" barbed stranglers. Those Necrons were going down easy with two of those in my army.
He's adding a Monolith for the 750 pt game and was claiming that he was invincible. But I knew better.
I need a copy of the Necron codex.
One of the best moves you can do. Additionally, the Necron Codex has some of the best fluff in the entire 40K range.
Plus, you can suss out rules for WBB and phase out too - which will be very very important if he intends to bring a monolith to the 750 arena.
If ya check the Necron FAQ, the only weapon that gets "special" penetration on the monolith is the Vindicare Assassin's "turbo-penetrator" round, because it does not count as "bonus" penetration.
Keep in mind I don't know how the vindicare's "turbo-thingy" works (I'll check my friend's codex this weekend), I'm just goin by the current FAQ.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes
SO going by this same line of questions if a strength 8 melta needs a 6 to glance does it penetrate since its AP1?
http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...ad.php?t=94111 (The Frequently Asked Questions about 40K Necrons.)
everything you want to know, and possible don't want to know about LIVING METAL.