Deep striking monolith into cc - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member storyofmylife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Dothan, AL
    Age
    35
    Posts
    25
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    Deep striking monolith into cc

    If you deep strike a monolith in a unit lock in close combat. Does the enemy unit still have to move or can you deep strike the monolith into a unit lokced in cc?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    All the codex says is,"move any models that are in the way the minimum distance necessary
    to make room for the monolith."
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  4. #3
    Age
    Age is offline
    Senior Member Age's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Canterbury, England
    Age
    30
    Posts
    479
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    25 (x1)

    So does that imply that you could actually break up a CC by landing in the middle of it? hmmm... sounds unlikley, but it'd be quite fun if you could. Especially with gauss flux arc going for you
    If I've replied, i've probably used Italics...

    www.goodbyeboltgun.blogspot.com - Some of my stuff.

  5. #4
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    Even if it could break up CC, to do so the monolith would have to land exactly centered on the CC and the units engaged would have to be exactly lined up along a centerline of the monolith, because the models would move the shortest/minimum distance to get out of the way. Most likely there will be models still engaged, though some of a unit may have to consolidate back into the CC. As far as I can tell anyway...
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  6. #5
    for good and for awesome! kore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,492
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    134 (x4)

    I would say don't even start splitting hairs here. Move everyone in the CC in one direction.
    Karmoon: "well.. any kore = good kore" 12:35pm PST 23 May 2007


  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Age
    43
    Posts
    410
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    21 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by kore View Post
    I would say don't even start splitting hairs here. Move everyone in the CC in one direction.
    Absolutely!

  8. #7
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    Yeah, I'm all for moving them all in the same direction to be fair. And besides, you can't intentionally deepstrike into other units. As per deepstrike rules, the unit cannot be placed over other models before scattering. So if ya can't do it on purpose, and it doesn't break CC, this is tactically usesless. Its just protection for the monolith.
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts