Do friendly Skimmers block LoS?? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Striving for the right Ravenscraig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    In exile on Earth - currently in Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    941
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    144 (x3)

    Do friendly Skimmers block LoS??

    Greetings fellow Fire Brothers and Sisters!

    A quick query, if I may?

    1. Using Pathfinder Team as an example, are they allowed to fire underneath their hovering Devilfish at an enemy unit?

    2. If the answer to the above is "Yes":

    a. Can the enemy fire back at them?

    b. If so, do they have to take a target priority not to fire at the vehicle?

    c. Or must they fire at the vehicle?

    I must assume that this has been covered before but I wasn't able to find any threads in my initial searches. Sorry!

    Thank you for your time.

    ~ Ravenscraig ~


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member ZenGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Eastern PA, USA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    744
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    137 (x3)

    Skimmers never block line of sight for either player unless they land in which case they are no longer skimmers until they move again and they block LOS for both players as a normal tank. A skimmer can only do this in a turn it does not move.

    An unit must make a target priority test if another enemy unit is closer than the one they are firing at, this includes tanks. This test does not apply if the target is a vehicle unless another vehicle is closer.
    -Thread Killer Bryan
    Tyranid Hive Fleet Typhoeus
    T'au Empire, Bork'an Sept

  4. #3
    Gone LittleBlueMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Across the street.
    Posts
    1,286
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by Thane of Ravenscraig View Post
    Greetings fellow Fire Brothers and Sisters!

    A quick query, if I may?

    1. Using Pathfinder Team as an example, are they allowed to fire underneath their hovering Devilfish at an enemy unit?

    2. If the answer to the above is "Yes":

    a. Can the enemy fire back at them?

    b. If so, do they have to take a target priority not to fire at the vehicle?

    c. Or must they fire at the vehicle?

    I must assume that this has been covered before but I wasn't able to find any threads in my initial searches. Sorry!

    Thank you for your time.

    ~ Ravenscraig ~
    1. Yes they are allowed to shoot under their devilfish.
    2. a. Yes, the enemy can fire back.
    b. yes, they must make a target priority test.
    c. only if they fail the target priority test.

    in addition, skimmers never block line of sight unless they have landed or are immobilized.
    Turtles For the Turtle God!
    Shells For the Shell Throne!

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    michigan, kalamazoo
    Age
    40
    Posts
    197
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -6 (x0)

    a quick clairification. target priority tests are to be made if you want to fire at a unit that is not the closest unit, or if you want to fire at a vehicle that is not the closest vehicle.

    you can always choose to fire at vehicles OR units, so for example the example you listed with pathfinders and a devilfish. the opposing player can decide if they want to shoot at troops OR vehicles for any given unit, so no your devilfish never screens your pathfinders by forcing a target priority test. however you can force a test to save your pathfinders by making sure that another unit of troops is infact closer to the firing unit.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Worcester, MA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    655
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    84 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by dragon252 View Post
    you can always choose to fire at vehicles OR units.
    I'm pretty sure this is wrong.

    A unit may choose to fire at vehicles instead of troops, but it does not work the other way. A unit may not choose to fire at troops and ignore vehicles. It means that a tau unit jumping out of the back of the devilfish for a FOF has a little protection against shooting (very small, but it is there).
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

    "Listen up you primitive screwheads ... see this ... this is my BOOM-stick!" - Ash

    "I told you, it's not Pink! It's Light Red!" Donut on his new power-armor.

  7. #6
    Senior Member ZenGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Eastern PA, USA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    744
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    137 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by dragon252 View Post
    a quick clairification. target priority tests are to be made if you want to fire at a unit that is not the closest unit, or if you want to fire at a vehicle that is not the closest vehicle.

    you can always choose to fire at vehicles OR units.
    Yea, that's not correct. Vehicles cannot be ignored for target priority, only infantry can be ignored if firing at a vehicle.
    -Thread Killer Bryan
    Tyranid Hive Fleet Typhoeus
    T'au Empire, Bork'an Sept

  8. #7
    Illustrator Extraordinair Adrian MalSeraph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New York State
    Age
    28
    Posts
    2,579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    192 (x7)

    Quote Originally Posted by ZenGamer View Post
    Yea, that's not correct. Vehicles cannot be ignored for target priority, only infantry can be ignored if firing at a vehicle.
    I believe the term you guys are looking for is "Declaring Large Targets"

  9. #8
    Senior Member ZenGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Eastern PA, USA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    744
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    137 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by Adrian MalSeraph View Post
    I believe the term you guys are looking for is "Declaring Large Targets"
    Also formerly (or maybe still-ly) known as "Shoot the big ones"
    -Thread Killer Bryan
    Tyranid Hive Fleet Typhoeus
    T'au Empire, Bork'an Sept

  10. #9
    Senior Member xsickpeoplex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    MADchester
    Age
    41
    Posts
    316
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    21 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by dragon252 View Post
    a quick clairification. target priority tests are to be made if you want to fire at a unit that is not the closest unit, or if you want to fire at a vehicle that is not the closest vehicle.

    you can always choose to fire at vehicles OR units, so for example the example you listed with pathfinders and a devilfish. the opposing player can decide if they want to shoot at troops OR vehicles for any given unit, so no your devilfish never screens your pathfinders by forcing a target priority test. however you can force a test to save your pathfinders by making sure that another unit of troops is infact closer to the firing unit.
    *whoa dude check page 19 in the bgb*


    Thane of Ravenscraig:

    you can use your devilfish to screen your pathfinders.

    the enemy HAS to shoot at it (as its the closest target) even if it can't damage it UNLESS it passes a leadership test.

    the pathfinders can shoot and be shot at since the devilfish is a skimmers and doesn't block line of sight.

  11. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    michigan, kalamazoo
    Age
    40
    Posts
    197
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -6 (x0)

    ah ok sorry XsickpeopleX is correct sorry about that (i was quoting from memory) i was incorrect in 1 part, you can choose to ignore the troops and shoot at a "large target" at will. but not vise versa. its odd its set up thisa way because you will get situations where a unit will be forced to fire at a target it cant hurt if it fails its leadership test. but this is indeed the rule as GW has written

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts