Welcome to Librarium Online!
Independent character rules for the Tau commander.
Ok here goes.
Apart from one exception Tau commanders are Independent Characters. While this is unclear in the Tau commanders entry in the codex, it is explained in the Tau empire FAQ (link here)> http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_...th_Edition.pdf
Unless involved in an assault a Commander that takes a Bodyguard is is not treated as an Independent Character. A Commander involved in an assault with a Bodyguard follows all the rules for Independent Characters in assaults (page 49 40K rulebook).
When the Commanders Bodyguard is lost (either to shooting or in assault) the Commander reverts back to being a full Independent Character. He then regains all the benefits attributed to an Independent Character.
If a Commander takes Drones controlled by a Drone controller it is treated as an Independent Character. The Commander and Drones form a unit.
If the Drones are destroyed the commander can be targeted in exactly the same way as any other model.
A Commander can never leave a Bodyguard unit and cannot join another unit.
A Commander with Drones is free to join and leave units at will. Exactly as a normal Independent Character without Drones.
When a Commander takes Drones they are counted for the purposes of moral checks due to casualty loss (25% test).
When a Commander with Drones takes Bodyguards, the Drones, Bodyguard and Commander are all counted as one unit for the purposes of moral checks from casualties (25% rule).
If a Commander takes Bodyguards he forms a unit.
The combined Commander and Bodyguard unit is taken as a single HQ choice.
The Commander cannot be singled out for targeting unless the targeting unit has a power which allows it to target specific models (I/E Vindicare assassins or Farseers etc).
This means that when the Commander has a Bodyguard and the unit is shot. Any resulting hits and wounds are distributed exactly as per outlined in the 40K rule book on pages 25 and 26.
The Commander is treated as an Independent Character in an assault. This means that the Commander follows the rules for an Independent Character in close combat.
This means the following apply'
(a) The Commander can only fight if in base to base contact with an opponent and must move first (before any other models including any controlled Drones) to get into base to base with the opposing unit.
(b) The Commander can hit models engaged in close combat only if they are within 2 inches of the model he is in base to base with
(c) Only the model in base to base with the Commander or within 2” of the model in base to base with the Commander can hit and wound the Commander
(d) The Commander cannot contribute any hits or wounds to the bodyguards close combat, unless the model/s the Bodyguard are fighting is/are also in base to base with the Commander
(e) No wounds from the Bodyguards close combat can be carried over to the Commander. If a model is in base to base with both the Commander and a Bodyguard it has to allocate hits and wounds. A wound on a Bodyguard cannot be given to the Commander or vice versa, it has to be given to an engaged model in the unit it was allocated to.
(f) The Commander rejoins his Bodyguard before any moral tests are made the combined unit can use the Commanders stats for the moral tests.
If the Bodyguards are destroyed (either by shooting or by close combat) then the Commander regains all the benefits of Independent Character status.
Now here we come to the complicated bit:
A commander with controlled Drones and a bodyguard
A Commander that takes a Drone controller and Drones can also take a Bodyguard. The unit follows all the rules for targeting above.
The Drones are treated as members of the unit for the purposes of casualties and fall back (I/E they contribute to the casualty total when testing for fall back due to 25% unit casualty losses etc).
However the way assaults are played is a bit more convoluted.
When a Commander takes controlled Drones this Commander/Drone unit is treated exactly like any other unit that has an attached Independent Character.
So the following would ensue for a Commander with Bodyguard and controlled Drones:
(a) The Commander fights a separate close combat.
(b) The Bodyguard fight a separate close combat.
(c) The Drones fight a separate close combat.
(d) The Commander can only fight if in base to base contact with an opponent.
(e) The Commander can hit models engaged in close combat if they are within 2 inches of the model he is base to base with.
(f) Only the model in base to base with the Commander or within 2” of the model in base to base with the Commander can hit and wound the Commander.
(g) The Commander cannot contribute any hits or wounds to the bodyguards or Drones close combats. Unless the model the Bodyguard and /or Drones are fighting are also in base to base with the Commander
(h) No wounds suffered by the Bodyguard and/or Drones close combats can be carried over to the Commander.
(i) If a model is in base to base with both the Commander and a Bodyguard and/or Drone it has to allocate hits and wounds to a specific individual unit (either the Commander or the Drones for instance).
A wound allocated to the Bodyguard and/or Drone unit cannot be palmed of to the Commander or vice versa. The wound must be given to an engaged model in the unit it was allocated to.
(j) If the Commander is killed in a close combat any controlled Drones are removed.
There are also other things to remember. The total wounds for all the combined Tau units in the multiple combat are tallied to determine who won the close combat.
Before any moral tests are rolled the Commander is classed as rejoining the Bodyguard unit (he would also be classed as re-joining his Drones). Effectively the three units would again form one unit and would roll one moral check, but they can use the Commanders leadership and initiative stats.
Commanders and controlled Drones (no bodyguard)
Commanders can take controlled Drones (be it gun or shield).
When the Commander takes Drones they form a unit, this is explained in the Drone section of the Tau empire codex.
The Independent Character and Drones form a unit and any unit with an Independent Character has to be treated as per the “Shooting at characters” rules in the 40K rulebook.
The Commander and Drones can join other units as an Independent Character (Commanders with Bodyguards cannot do this). This means they follow the rules for joining and leaving units as detailed in the 40K rulebook on page 48.
The Commander and Drones follow the rules for an assault as detailed in the Bodyguard and Commander section above (obviously replacing the Bodyguard with drones)
I think I have covered everything. If I have not or have got something wrong then please feel free to expand/clarify/correct.
Last edited by Rikimaru; January 24th, 2009 at 03:03. Reason: Revised for easier reading.
I am a bit surprised that this has drawn no replies, I am asking for help here people, I want to get this stickied as the definitive guide to Tau IC and their rules, if it seems correct would you let me know, if its wrong again let me know, c,mon Tau and rules gurus help me out here will'ya. I need to know I have got this right so we can use it and point newer players to it etc.
Well, looks accurate to me, riki.
ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014
I disagree with a couple things:
a: It says very explicitly that a commander (and his drones) count as a separate unit in CC.
This says to me that the commander and his drones act as a separate unit in CC (can be allocated hits and can be hit, etc.). It doesn't say a commander and his drones count as separate units.
b: The morale check thing is wrong also, as per the bgb FAQ (sorry to keep pulling out new references riki but you wanted us to check):
"Independent characters are treated as separate units when the model's attacks are resolved. Once the result of combat has been worked out, and before any Morale tests are taken by the losing side, ICs become once again part of the squad they have joined."
Edit: on a side note, the article is a bit long IMO. I myself didn't even read the whole thing, only skimmed the parts that were important to me :shifty: I'll probably read more later, but it seems like too much of a time investment to the casual reader.
Last edited by Fox3; May 10th, 2007 at 16:09.
"To follow any path other than the Tau'va is to doom us all. Only together and with courage and discipline shall we stand victorious. Fight with fire and courage and nothing can stand against us."
- Commander Shadowsun
All it says in the FAQ is the COM and his drones form a unit, it does not say they form a single entity but a unit, all XV8's who take drones form a unit, but IC's have specific rules to what they can and cannot do when joined to a unit that is involved in an assault, it does not matter if that unit is a BG, drone unit, controlled drones, FW squad etc, in a CC the COM always fights as a separate unit.
No where does it say taking drones excludes the COM from the rules for an IC in an assault while in a unit.
The IC counts as a separate unit for the purposes of CC and the drones are treated as a separate unit in CC, if the commander is killed the drones are removed.
The commander will however rejoin his drones before moral tests are taken as per your second point.
EDIT: Actually after making the changes it makes the moral tests a lot easier.
2nd EDIT regarding the length, this is work in progress and I will be trying to condense the finished article as much as possible only problem is there are three different combinations of unit with BG, COM and drones, so it gets convoluted.
Convoluted indead, I hope they make it simpler in the next version. Something like drones don't make IC count as a squad.
Anyway, while it is hard to read, I can't find anything wrong with it, good work.
I'm going to go and let my brain straighten out now.
Turtles For the Turtle God!
Shells For the Shell Throne!
This should be stickied or something.
*calls for mod help*
Turtles For the Turtle God!
Shells For the Shell Throne!
I'll place it in the Tau FAQ thread. (Y)
Want to chat? You can normally find me in the LO CHAT!
LO CHAT! JOIN US NOW AND BECOME A GOD OF BACON.