Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So... noticed this little thread link to rival forum removed. ~ Papa K
The Codex states that you can teleport an entire unit of Necrons through the Portal but the RAW is that only about 15 warriors will fit in the 2 inch deployment zone around the portal itself.
I posted this on the Warseer forum and it was easier to just paste it here. I am not disputing the actual ruling on this because unfortunately it states that it must follow the disembarking rules which limit the number of models that can be deployed. I do think this was not the intention of GW.
Guess I just want to see what other people think of this. I have always played where you can deploy the unit and this will change my tactics a bit.I can read the RAW and see the stance that people have made on this subject in as far as being forced to only deploy an understrength warrior squad through a Monolith Portal.
I don't believe this was intentional by GW. If you read the Necron Codex it states that
In the Movement phase it may use its portal to allow entire Necron units (specfically Warriors. Immortals, Flayed Ones, Destroyers, Heavy Destroyers) and any Necron Lord that has joined such a unit to phase out (even if in close combat) and re-enter play by emerging from the Monolith portal as if they were disembarking from an access point on a stationary transport vehicle (even if the Monotlith as moved).
Now... I realize I am being a bit nit picky here but to me it sounds like they intended to allow the entire unit. This is a unique situation subject to the Necron army only.
All the other armies I am aware of that use transports have a set limitation in the number of models that can fit into said transport. Doesn't matter what size the squad can be because only so many can fit in the transport and its stated in its description. That limitation allows that unit to disembark within the 2 inch rule. The Monolith doesn't have any sort of statement anywhere that I can find. It basically states that you can teleport an entire unit through the portal... but wait... oops... make sure and follow the disembark rule of 2 inches?!
This would be so much clearer if there was a set amount of models that can be teleported/transported but we don't have that luxury apparently. Again, I don't think it was intentional to force Necrons to trim their units down when teleported through the Monolith portal but be that as it is... I guess we are stuck with it till there is a redux on the Codex.
Last edited by Karmoon; June 4th, 2007 at 21:30.
Sadly thats the way it is.
Nowhere does it state necrons are exempt from the 2" rule from the rulebook so its still in effect.
For friendly games i'd waive that just because (as stated) it doesn't appear to be the intention of the designers.
Problem is, you couldn't give the monolith portal a special disembark zone (say, 4") as it could do some nasty things to wraiths and destroyers lords.
It wouldn't make sense to remove a 20 model unit with lord only to be penalised and only be able to place 15 warriors.
It's not exactly like disembarking is it?
Then again.. if you apply this rule to units already in play.. do you also apply it to units of warriors in reserve?
Once again, it's unfair to buy a 20 strong squad only to be penalised because of the 2" rule.
There some interpretation to penalise the necron player, but ROI or RAW, supports the non penalised version in my opinion.
'entire units' and all that.
LO RulesOriginally Posted by AnonymousOriginally Posted by Cyric
It is considered exiting from a stationary viechle. You wrap around as close as possible, if you look at the new terminators they are larger bases so there is no way that a unit can disembark and maintain 2 inches