Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I played Dark Eldar when I first started playing 40k years ago, and I've since played a few different armies but have always toyed with going back to DE. Well, I was rereading the codex this weekend and I can't believe I missed out on just how awesome webway portals are. However, I don't really understand how to use them effectively.
I read through a few posts on the forums here, and it seemed that some people give them to warrior squads and on turn 1 deploy the portals, then on turn 2 have raiders come out, disembark troops, FoF and assault. This seems like a weird strategy to me, because you're basically gaining 0" of movement since you could have just had the raiders where the squads were. Sure, maybe you wouldn't have enough terrain to hide all of your raiders, but is it really worth the 100pts and the loss of an entire turn? It seems to me like you'd want to deploy 2-3 WWP within 12" of the enemy so you could walk out massive squads of troops, FoF if necessary, and charge. Not to mention that then any Talos your army have would be able to simply walk out of the portal and charge without ever getting shot.
Also, a random question. The text states "If you do this, then the troops may only enter through the webway, and if it has not been opened on the turn they become available to enter play, they must be held back until it is." Normally I would assume that if you don't have a WWP out, you just don't roll until it's deployed. However, the wording of this text almost makes it seem like you roll every turn like normal, and if a squad is available on turn 2 but the WWP isn't open yet, as soon as it's open that squad is automatically available. I can't imagine that's correct, but I just figured that I would ask.
This has caused much contention in the past,as there are two schools of thought, yours and mine.
to me, it is the reserves lining up inside the webway ready to attack as soon as it opens. much like if a reserve point is blocked you still roll for reserves, but they just can't come on yet, but must come on at the first opportunity available.
our codex does not say you do not roll, and hence you roll, for a blocked deployment. if you make the roll they come on the movement phase after it opens.
the other school is what you said, that you start rolling once you open the portal, and i don't see the raw behind this, only the same amount of logic as my way, it isn't just that i support my way cause i play DE. i believe in my way.
but just wait for more support for yourself... its coming. alternativly you could search the forums...
So if this is the case, then it seems like deploying on turn 2 or turn 3 isn't so bad, as by the time the portal is open, all of your reserves should be ready to come out.
Ok, so now that there are no rules confusion, how do people usually use WWP? Like I said, I don't really see a large advantage to deploying them on turn 1, but if you wait until after that, there's a chance the squads carrying it will be destroyed.
First of all, there is absolutely no confusion regarding the reserve rolls. I cant remember which of the two adresses this issue, the FAQ or latest codex upadate but one clearly explains that reserves are rolled normally, so even if the portal is open on turn 3. The units that were rolled during turns 2-4 can come out on turn 4.
As for deployment, the wording is completely rediculous but there are two ways to play it. One where the model deploying it has to stay stationary and not shoot for entire turn and deploy, or some others think that it can be deployed during the shooting phase instead of moving, or shooting. There was something about the model not being able to assault during the turn when the model is deploying WWP, but I say thats BS because there is nothing in the rules, FAQ or update that adresses the fact.
I personaly play it this way, a model cant move/shoot during the turn it deploys, but can assault if it wishes. Reserve rolls start being rolled on turn 2 on 4+, turn 3 on 3+ and ect. Reserves come out of WWP next turn after deployment, and can move, shoot, assault.
1: Yeah, that is true that the closer the WWP is, the better. But opening one or more right away is a different, but valid, defensive tactic for WWP's.Originally Posted by fitret
By setting one up immediately (in the middle front of your 'lines'), any units of yours that roll well for their Reserves roll can counter-charge any enemy units making early charges on your lines (or just getting too close for your liking).Funnily enough- that's exactly how it works.Normally I would assume that if you don't have a WWP out, you just don't roll until it's deployed. However, the wording of this text almost makes it seem like you roll every turn like normal, and if a squad is available on turn 2 but the WWP isn't open yet, as soon as it's open that squad is automatically available. I can't imagine that's correct, but I just figured that I would askDeploying the WWP squads in cover (like woods, say) makes them way more durable, and means that you've got a very good chance of those WWP's actually opening.This seems like a weird strategy to me, because you're basically gaining 0" of movement since you could have just had the raiders where the squads were
If you want to put a Raider in cover, as opposed to hovering over it, you've got to make a dangerous terrain check for that Raider. They suck.
Can you deploy a webway portal while in close combat? I personally don't think you can since it seems like such a difficult thing to do, excluding both shooting and moving, that a model couldn't do it while stabbing and being stabbed.
Well in my experience, there has been problems. At Adepticon, they ruled that you can't roll for reserves unless the portal is open. Their interpretation was that your reserves were not available so you couldn't roll. This also happened in a local tourney so don't think it is so clearly worded. In a tourney setting, you probably know the de rules a lot better than a judge but that doesn't mean they will agree with what you think.
Ive also had them rule against skimmers coming out of a surrounded portal in two tournies now.
Also, the is a little ambiguity in the way the portal rules are written in regards to a reserve/no escalation game. The "may" in there has caused me a little grief in the past.
There are two reasons why you would deploy in turn one. The first being you are facing a fast assault army that is racing towards you. Then distance really doesn't matter as much.
The second is you are concerned that you may lose your portal carriers. Say you are facing farseers in a quarter table set up with not much cover. They can snipe your syb's with psyker powers. Ive played guys with drop pods that have chosen to go first to try and drop to take out deployers. I've seen both in games. The eldar player blew the second snipe or I would have lost both carriers. :yes:
I'm fairly certain with the way the rules are worded, the intention is that the model can neither move nor shoot before using the portal, which seems to be the predominant opinion on these boards.