Welcome to Librarium Online!
Last time I read my codex, there is this rule, which threw up sand again in my last battle.
I like to use a 2 barbed Strangler Carnifex in a Psychic Choir, for the pinning effect. I used to think I could shoot both of them, at the same squad. But my opponent (who probably had read the codex too) mentioned that the same weapon twice on a creature makes it acutally a single weapon that is twin-linked.
I see on this forum a lot of 2 twin-devourer carnies and 2 twin-devourer HT's. But a single weapon is already twin-linked.
My question is, what can I and can't I do with 2 of the same kind of weapons on a Montrous Creature? Do I get to shoot 2 shots with my 2 Barbed Stranglers, or only once? And what of those 2 twin-devourer critters?
Okay, here is how it works:
Any weapon that appears twice on a tyranid becomes twinlinked. That means your two BS become one twinlinked one. So you get one shot that rerolls to hit.
The exception from this is that if something is already twinlinked, it can't be linked again, so it stays as two weapons. (the reason behind 2 sets of twinlinked devourers)
Hope that helps
Originally Posted by The Paint Monkey
Just read the codex entry. If it says the weapon is twin linked then it is twin linked. And buying a second set gives you an entirely different weapon.
If it doesn't say it's twinlinked then buying another set will make the whole thing twin linked.
EDIT: CURSE YOU WAARIORRRR!
LO RulesOriginally Posted by AnonymousOriginally Posted by Cyric
thanks guys. Think I'll ripp of one of the Barbed Strabglers, and put on a Venom Cannon then.