Welcome to Librarium Online!
1. If you for some reason chose a Hive Tyrant with adrenal gland(I) and bio-plasma, would it hit with the bio-plasma at I 10 or I 12?
Many stats seem to have a hard limit at 10, altough I've never read anywhere that I specificly is limited in this way, or that every stat does in fact have this hard limit.
Are there any Initiative 10 units?
The reason I ask is that it may not be necessary to have a hard answer (hence the lack of one anywhere in the rules unless I'm also just missing it). If you attack into cover, your I is made 10 if you have frag grenades (or equivalent), and 1 if you don't. So even with frags, or being attacked in cover, your I12 would become a 10. In subsequent rounds, unless there's some crazy I10 critter out there I don't know about, it'd be irrelevant, since I10 would be sufficient. Maybe against other bio-plasma hive tyrants, Idunno.
I want to say it's a hardcap of 10, and that even if it isn't who cares, but can't give you the answer for sure - I don't know.
Nids & Guard
GMail = MVBrandt
the adrenal glands(+ 1 initiative) alter the listed stats of the tyranid so the bio plasma will go off at initiative 12 for a hive tyrant. There is no mention of a hard cap on initiative in the rule book.
As you guessed, I was contemplating what would happen if I used it against cover.
That initiative is reduced to 1 when charging into cover was new to me, so I had to look it up. I could find it nowere, altough I found examples of charging into cover where I is not reduced to 1. Could you double check your sources in case I missed something, please?
It would impact any unit with initiative 5+ using bio-plasma, so it would be nice to be certain.
Anyway, I found my answer.
Rulebook page 12, 2nd paragraph, first line. It defines a hard cap for all characteristics at 10. ..so no charging cover at I 12 with Hive Tyrant, I'm afraid.
Thanks for answering anyway, Gunslinger.
Arn't Eldar Banshees Initiative 10 on the charge ? im not sure but that might help, might need a Eldar player to comfirm that tho
Army of the heavens, my army waits in hell
To battle on the earth, for all the souls who fell
Is it me or does any other necron player get annoyed when they see people saying "Necrons eat souls". How is that even possible as souls are part of the warp and necrons want nothing to do with it? Eh probaly me just me being picky.
Tyranid Hivemind Member