Welcome to Librarium Online!
This is a thread dedicated to those frequent questions that crop up from time to time. If you are a veteran player and want to contribute a question/answer, please do! If you are a new player and you have a question about how the Tau Empire works, post it here!
Please post ONLY in the following manner!
Question: Put your question here! (You may abbreviate Question with Q.) Please make sure to include a reference to your answer.
And, if you are posting a Q&A both, please post the answer like the following. Note: please include the original question!
Answer: Put your answer here! (You may abbreviate Answer with A.)
Posts not posted in this layout WILL be edited if not deleted, so please keep this in mind!
As singular questions (i.e., not Q&A posts) are answered, the original posts with the question(s) will be deleted so the thread doesn't become cluttered up, leaving only the Q&A posts. So if your post disappears, this is why.
NOTE: Please keep in mind that this is meant for rules and generic FAQ questions and clarifications ONLY. Posts asking about how useful a unit it, or tactics questions, should not be posted.
Disclaimer: Please note that many posts including questions have been and will be deleted to reduce the clutter of this thread, so the people answering the questions are not necessarily always going to be the ones who posed them in the first place.
I'll get the ball rolling.
Q. I keep seeing names like "Helios, Deathrain, Fireknife and Centurion," but I can't see these written in the codex anywhere.
A. The names written above are names that have been given to Crisis suits with various different weapon configurations. There are a plethora of different names though the four written above are four of the most common and their different configurations are as follows.
Helios - Fusion Blaster, Plasma Rifle, Multi Tracker
Deathrain - Twin Linked Missile Pods, Targetting Array
Fireknife - Plasma Rifle, Missile Pod, Multi-Tracker
Centurion - Cyclic Ion Blaster, Plasma Rifle, Multi-tracker
I don't care what you say. I found a lightsaber in my garage and that makes me a Jedi
Question: Can I take 2 of the same weapon on a crisis suit separately? Or do they have to be twinlinked?
Answer: They have to be twinlinked.
Question: What is the independent character rule?
Answer: If an enemy unit wants to target an independent character who is not part of a unit, it must be the closest target to do so. If it is not the closest target, the unit may not shoot at it, it may not even attempt to pass a target priority test.
If an independent character is part of a unit, it is still an independent character, but most people say it has lost "IC status". What they mean is that the unit he has joined (he and drones form a unit) may be shot at with a passed target priority test (if they're not the closest).
Q: When drones from Piranha squads detach do they form one big unit, or seperate units of 2?
A: They form one big unit.
Q: Do drones remove my HQ's independant character status?
A: Yes, but only for targeting purposes, the HQ may still join and leave units.
Q: Do drones count toward maximum number of troops that can fit in a Devilfish? Or in other words, can my Devilfish hold 12 Fire Warriors + 2 Drones?
A: The drones count as models when determining unit size. This includes maximum transport size and morale checks.
For all other intents and purposes (assaults, joining and leaving units etc) the commander/etheral is an independent character, the only thing that totally removes IC status is bodyguards and this is only until the BG are destroyed, when this happens the IC status is once agian regained.
Q: Can a hammerhead equipped with burst cannons fire them at a separate unit than the main weapon?
A: Only when the Hammerhead is given a Target Lock from the Vehicle Armoury section.
Last edited by Lost Nemesis; July 21st, 2007 at 07:50.
Q: If you elect to rapid fire with pulse rifles, is the rapid fire range 15"
A: No the rapid fire rule clearly states that rapid fire range is 12", this applies to any and every rapid fire weapon, including pulse rifles and the Kroot gun.
Q: Can I take 3 of the same weapons on an XV8
A: No the codex states that 3 of the same weapons may never be taken on an XV8.
Last edited by Lost Nemesis; August 2nd, 2007 at 08:58.
Q: What's a 'Warfish?'
A: A 'Warfish' is a Devilfish transport upgraded with a Smart Missile System, Targeting Array, Multitracker, and Decoy Launchers.
Q: How many weapons can a Crisis Suit shoot in a turn?
A: The maximum number of weapons a Crisis Suit can use in a turn is two, and only if a Multitracker is bought for the suit.
Question: Do unused markerlight hits last multiple turns (as per the wording the codex) or do unused markerlights expire at the end of each turn and GW just screwed up the entry?
Answer: Case of wishful thinking methinks there bud, it says they remain until the end of the current Tau shooting phase, or until they are used, this means that any marker token that is used is removed, if any are not used then the are lost at the end of the current current Tau shooting phase.
The first part of the sentence is pretty explanatory in that it says 'the end of the current shooting phase'
1. Shoot the marker lights.
2. Any successful hits are placed as counters against the targeted unit.
3. So if you have 3 hits you place 3 tokens.
4. You declare a single marker light benefit for an individual token.
5 You remove a token when you use each individual benefit (I/E if your upping the BS of a unit by 2, you remove two tokens after you declare the unit is going to go for the increased BS)
6. If you want to use the tokens to reduce cover saves or Leadership from pinning against the unit targeted by the BS boosted Tau unit, then this also has to be declared in the shooting phase.
7 So if you have 3 tokens and you must decide how many are going to be used by a unit and what benefits are going to be used, if any tokens are left then these can be used by another Tau unit (using the same rules above)
8. Any tokens that have not been utilised and subsequently removed are removed at the end of the Tau players shooting phase.
Last edited by Lost Nemesis; August 10th, 2007 at 04:03.
Question: It some cases the codex isn't as specific, and I don't want to rob myself of any points here. Would a Shas'ui team leader's Ld. be used for the entire squad?
Answer: The Ld. of the Shas'ui is used for the entire squad unless the Shas'ui is killed, then the unit reverts back to its normal Leadership value.
Question: If you give a team leader a marker light and multi-tracker can he shoot two weapons?
Answer: Yes, if given a hard-wired Multitracker he can shoot both the Pulse Rifle (or Carbine) and the Markerlight both, so long as the model hasn't moved (as the ML counts as a Heavy weapon).
Last edited by Lost Nemesis; August 10th, 2007 at 04:15.