Direct damage and Target - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Århus, Denmark
    Age
    29
    Posts
    275
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    31 (x1)

    Direct damage and Target

    I have a question regarding the target of Direct Damage spells such as Flame Storm. Specifically in conjunction with the lore attribute.

    The question has come up some times now, I play Wood Elves and Dark Magic has a spell that works somewhat the same(Soul Stealer) and the lore attribute also has effects for the target unit.

    Who/What is the target of this kind of spells?

    That means Sir Isaac Newton is the deadliest-son-of-a-bitch in space!

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Benevolent Dictator CaptainSarathai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    inside your head
    Posts
    9,222
    Mentioned
    77 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1480 (x8)

    I couldn't find anything in the FAQs, so I'm going with the wording of the rulebooks on this one:

    Fire Storm
    Fire Attribute
    If a direct damage or magic missile spell from the Lore of Fire is cast at a unit that has already been hit by a direct damage or magic missile spell from the Lore of Fire in the same Magic phase, the casting Wizard adds +D3 to his casting total
    Fire Storm will not gain the +D3 to cast, because it does not specify a target, it simply drops the template. Even placing the template directly on top of an enemy regiment does not count as targeting that regiment. However, any regiment that is hit by the template will be eligible for the +D3 from another Fire spell such as Fireball.

    Soul Stealer is much the same, because it specifies that only units targeted by the spell gain Vengeance Counters, but that any unit hit by a spell can expend Vengeance Counters. Dark Magic is lucky therefore, because you can throw small spells first, and then gain the effect with the larger spell (Soul Stealer). Targeting a regiment with DoomBolt, for example, will give them a Vengeance Counter. If you then place the Soul Stealer template in such a way that it scatters onto that regiment (hits it), you may expend Vengeance Counters to have Soul Stealer deal out additional damage. However, just like Flame Storm, Soul Stealer does not designate a target, and will not add Vengeance Counters to any regiments which it affects.
    Pts Values for AoS here!

    Nippon Armybook: Isuu, Scribd, and free at Google Docs

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts