Engineer question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    i am da Wahhchief Digger's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    utrecht, Holland
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,419
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    320 (x8)

    Engineer question

    Hi guys,

    im considering using Mortars right now, and was wondering about the engineer's skill

    The rule says he can re-roll an artillry dice, except a rangedice for a cannonball.
    So... does a mortar fire a cannonball, or a mortarball? i know it may sound silly... but i dunno.

    Eternal Newbie

    Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Miko de Adamyetz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Syberia of the Mind
    Age
    32
    Posts
    497
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    66 (x1)

    Mortar shoots like a stone thrower, so I'd guess it does not count as a cannonball.

  4. #3
    Benevolent Dictator CaptainSarathai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    inside your head
    Posts
    9,222
    Mentioned
    77 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1480 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Digger View Post
    The rule says he can re-roll an artillry dice, except a rangedice for a cannonball.
    So... does a mortar fire a cannonball, or a mortarball? i know it may sound silly... but i dunno.
    Haha, you're over-complicating this. Aren't you military Digger? I guess if so, that would be something you'd worry about.

    You can reroll anything except a shot from a cannon. This means that you get to reroll the distance scattered on your mortar rounds.
    Pts Values for AoS here!

    Nippon Armybook: Isuu, Scribd, and free at Google Docs

  5. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    i am da Wahhchief Digger's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    utrecht, Holland
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,419
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    320 (x8)

    Thanks for the explanation guys.

    Now, what are your thoughts about this:
    a Great Cannon, MasterEngineer and Mortar all huddled up, so the engineer will be put to its best use.

    The S2 on the mortar seems a bit underwhelming, thats the same damageoutput snotlings have and they don't usually hurt alot.
    Eternal Newbie

    Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs

  7. #5
    Senior Member Miko de Adamyetz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Syberia of the Mind
    Age
    32
    Posts
    497
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    66 (x1)

    I know nothing at all about artillery, but I saw this:

    A Great Cannon, Master Engineer and Mortar walk into a bar...

    [sorry]

  8. #6
    Drill Sergeant Lord Borak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    In the Loft
    Age
    11
    Posts
    10,215
    Mentioned
    62 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    2052 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Digger View Post
    The S2 on the mortar seems a bit underwhelming, thats the same damage output snotlings have and they don't usually hurt alot.
    Aye, but Snots don't toss large blast templates. You can hit most of a 30man regiment on 20mm bases. Sure it's only str2 but against T3 infantry like Elves, Empire, Skaven etc you're doing 10wounds (with Ap?). When you chuck whithering on your opponent to lower their Toughness Mortars become nasty. They are expensive for what they do though...

  9. #7
    Member Scott Sorge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    I thought that they could only NOT re-roll the bounce dice.....I thought the initial shot was re-rollable

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts