Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2,387 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Bare with me, I am long time Eldar Veteran, and venturing in to uncharted territroy with 5th edition marines.

HQ-

Captain w/?

Elites-
Deadnaught +Drop Pod

5 Terminators w/ Assault Cannon

Troops-

10 Tac Marines w/ Melta, Teleport homer, Drop Pod

10 Tac Marines w/Melta, Drop Pod

This leaves me 105 points to mess with, and arm the captain. I am unsure if it is more beneficial to make the squads a tad smaller to skim the points. Also should I give the sergeants power fist or what?

Please be patient with this list, as I am new to SMs.

·
Registered
120 Posts
Nah, you hardly ever want to take less than 10 Tac Squad, they're cheaper by the 10's and you can always combat squad them even when they're in a Drop Pod. If you haven't already, you should look over the Drop Pod Tactica, some good reading there seeing as how this list is Pod heavy. If you want to skim on points the Terminators should be the first to go. 230 points (245 if you count the teleport homer) this is almost 1/4 of your list for 5 guys!!! You could go with some mobility, maybe an Assault Squad as this gives you 10 bodies instead of 5 and it goes with your Assaulty theme. And a Chaplain is really good with these guys.

10 Tactical Squad w/Powerfist, Meltagun, Missile Launcher, Meltabombs 205
Drop Pod 35
10 Tactical Squad w/Powerfist, Meltagun, Multi-Melta, Meltabombs 205
Drop Pod 35
Dreadnought replace Storm Bolter with Heavy Flamer 115
Drop Pod 35
Chaplain w/Jump Pack, Digital Weapons(to ensure Power Weapon hits)Meltabombs 130
Assault Squad w/Powerfist, 2x Flamers, Meltabombs 240

Total 1000 even, hope this helps!

·
Registered
2,387 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I was thinking about dropping the terminators for something else.