Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited by Moderator)
1000pts Competitive List, built to face all-comers.​

Background:
I have yet to play a real game of wh40k, outside of a demonstration game or two at my local store, however I have been writing/considering lists for what seems like an eternity whilst slowly assembling(read painting :/) my army.

As such I have little "real world" experience of what works and what doesn't - my knowledge is only from reading forum threads on here, so any (harsh)critique is very welcomed.

I have a friend of mine who has recently started collecting and assembling an Imperial Guard army. So I now have a new incentive to redouble my efforts and achieve 1000pts of painted marines and I want to finalise my list before I spend more of my cash/time on models I wont end up using.

My plan is to build a competitive list to face all enemies not just my friends Imperial Guard.
Please be critical and don't hold back to be polite!

---- 1000pts Codex Marines (competitive)

1x Chaplin - [xxxpts]

10x Tactical, with RazorBack HB - [240pts]
- M/Launcher, Meltagun, P/Fist, RazorBack

10x Tactical, with Rhino - [235pts]
- M/Launcher, Meltagun, P/Fist, Rhino

.5x Tactical, with RazorBack HB - [130pts]
- Flamer, Razor Back

1x Dred, with Pod - [150pts]
- H/Flamer, Drop Pod

1x Land Speeder - [60pts]
- MultiMelta

1x Whirlwind - [xxpts]

---Total 1000pts---

The Plan:
The Chaplin is to ride with the 5man razor back squad, (but could perhaps also go in the Rhino, if I were to combat squad, leaving the heavy weapon behind)

I am aiming to get into close combat.. I think? Meltagun the tanks then charging with the power fist.

The LandSpeeder is a suicide deep-strike tank popper

I plan to drop the dreadnought in close range on an infantry squad after the whirlwind has had a go at weakening it, or drop to rear of tank if required.