Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking for an army list to use against my two friends who play Lizardmen and Skaven respectively.

I have no idea what to look for when using Undead armies since i'm just starting out! I'm not a fan of Vampires so if i don't need them or they can be replaced with other characters then the would be great. I've looked at the Games-workshop site and looked at the models I like and whatnot.

We play 8th edition, End Times units are accepted, rules not the Age of Sigmar stuff.

·
Benevolent Dictator
9,222 Posts
Ouch, it's a shame that they cut the Tomb Kings. My friend put together a list recently, mixing Vampire Counts and Tomb Kings, and it is brutal.
If you can get the TK book, you might be able to find models secondhand. All the 8th edition books are still available legally on iTunes, when I last checked.

What kind of list are you drawn to? Especially, because you say that you want to avoid Vampires. So.... why Undead? The vampires are what usually draws people in.

If you want to avoid Vampires, you can get away with Necromancers and Wight Kings for your Wizards and Standard Bearer, plus the option to sub in Tomb Kings.

I would advise that if you and your group are just getting into 8th, you avoid the End Times rules - they aren't bad, but they make the game needlessly complex and can unbalance it. Often, players seem to cherry-pick the different rules, especially since we only get a few of the rules in each book. It also opens common pitfalls with new players, by allowing a lot of spam and "quality over quantity" type choices, which will hurt you as you learn more about the actual gameplay. With Undead in particular, it opens choices on a level only rivaled by Chaos Legions.