Librarium Online Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey i am lookin to design my 1500pt army for tau, this is my first time playing war 40k, so i am not sure what i should buy. So far, i have:
1 crisis suit
1 box of fire warriors
1 box of kroots
3 stealth suits
1 hammer head

Any thoughts about what i should do next ??

·
Registered
60 Posts
More crisis suits, they are one of the best Tau units.

I like to have 4, 1 as a HQ-Shas'O and a team of 3 elites, give them all Plasma guns/Missile pods/multi-trackers and give the team leader a hard-wired drone-controller and 2 shield drones. keep the Shas'O alone.

Use the independent character rule to keep your HQ from being targeted and just move around the board killing things :)

Also, you may want to get a team of broadsides (3), if you do, give 2 of them target locks and the 3rd a drone-controller with 1-2 shield drones.

hope that helps.

·
Registered
340 Posts
You should spring for the tau battleforce box. It'll pretty much finish up the army you're looking for.

But ya, Crisis suits are amazing.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thx for the help.. But ..

Would it be worth it to buy a battle force ? i mean are the kroots worth it ? i don't really seem to be particularly fond of them but i may not be using them right.. what does everyone think ?

·
Registered
60 Posts
I use Farsight so no kroot for me, although they can make good meat-shields for broadsides.

If you didn't want the battle force I'd say get another box of FW, 3 Crisis suits, 3 broadsides, and maybe another 3 stealth suits to make a full squad if you find them usefull.

·
Registered
54 Posts
I see what you're saying, and I've had the same thoughts, myself. I've never fielded only one crisis suit ever, though. So, buy as many as you can. They can play any role in your army (i've said this time after time on this site).