Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
846 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, quick background. Im new to 5th addition, just got back into 40k after many years off. Stopped playing soon after 3rd edition came out. I've been playing quite a few games recently but this will be my 1st 5th edition tourney (btw in 2nd edition my Eldar were undefeated in regular tournaments).

1st place is ~$100 in store credit.

So here goes, advice and criticism is all much appreciated and indeed desired.
Most opponents are Marines (drop pod or LR/rhino rush). 1 IG, and 1 Tau.

HQ:
[210] - Eldrad (though I don't like using named, pretty much everyone else does)

Elites:
[286] - Howling Banshees x8, +1 Exarch with executioner. [166]
Wave Serpent with Shuriken Cannons (hull and linked), Spirit Stone [120]

Fast Attack:
[186] - Warp Spiders x6, +1 Exarch w/ double spinners

Troops:
[186] - Dire Avengers x9, +1 Exarch w/dual Catapults and Bladestorm
[186] - Dire Avengers x9, +1 Exarch w/dual Catapults and Bladestorm
[144] - Pathfinders x6

Heavy Support:
[135] - Fire Prism w/ cannon and Spirit Stone
[135] - Fire Prism w/ cannon and Spirit Stone
[100] - Support Weapon x2 D-Cannon

1500pts on the nose.

So here's my strategy. Since all of the Marine players are rush/deep strike players I figured I can sit tight and they generally come to me.
Everyone's afraid of the D-Cannons and so they protect a corner. I will put them on one side of deployment then use Divination to move them (since their location greatly effects my opponents' deployment). They then create a 24" bubble that most players are deathly afraid of, this works better than actually killing stuff.

I usually run Wraithguard too, but think the Banshees are a better choice. I like the pathfinders, and they always seem to do some good, but they'd be the most replaceable imo.
The idea of infiltrating Scorpions in a Wave Serpent seems like a lot of fun, but not sure for 1500.