Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I am new to Fantasy, having started this year. I bought a second hand unpainted VC army without having played or read any of the rules and army books. So I am basically playing with what I have. Did buy the skeletons though. Will add other units to my collection as I go along, but would prefer to finish painting what I have and gain more experience.

Count: Curse of Rev, Summon Ghouls, Iron Sinews (340 pts)
Thrall: Bat Forms (125 pts)
Necromancer: Power Familiar (150 pts)
Necromancer: Book of Arkhan, Dispel Scroll (150 pts)

18 Skeletons: Full Command, Shields, Armour (205 pts)
10 Ghouls (80 pts)
10 Ghouls (80 pts)
10 Ghouls (80 pts)
10 Ghouls (80 pts)
10 Ghouls (80 pts)
6 Ghouls (48 pts)

8 Black Knights: Full Command, Barding, Banner of the Barrows (285 pts)

5 Fell Bats (100 Pts)
5 Fell Bats (100 Pts)

8 Dire Wolves including Doom Wolf (90 pts)

# Models: 104
Casting Dice: 9
Dispel: 6

The plan I have formulated is that I deploy the Ghouls in front, and at the back and sides when I ran out of room. :) I then deploy the Bats on each flank with the Flying Thrall behind one of them to go war machine hunting. The Skeletons, Knights and Wolves then go where I think I have the best chance of inflicting the most damage with the least amount of losses. So far my opponents have always finished deploying by the time I get to my skeletons and knights. Count goes with the skeletons, and the necromancers are positioned close to one of the ghoul units and provide support to the main attack. I am playing around with the death spells on one of them to try out some shooting spells. Helps against those pesky doomseekers.

My main opponent is an experienced player with Dwarves. Mainly Slayers. Results so far are

Vs Slayers: Loss. My first game and we made contact on my first turn. Second turn I was history. Learnt a lot of valuable lessons.