Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,060 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a little unsure on how fish of fury works. My understanding is that as a skimmer the warriors can stand under the devilfish, and can't be charged correctly as the devilfish is in 1". But I might just be misunderstanding and they can still be charged correctly. Also, does being under the fish give them a cover bonus? Also, when counting hard/fire points on a crisis suit you only count the weapons right? For example, a suit could have dual plasma, single fusion, multi tracker, and shield generator. The dual plasma and single fusion would fill the hard points, and the multi tracker and shield generator would be the hard wired systems (assuming it's command and has three hard wire points.)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,919 Posts
mephistophales said:
I'm a little unsure on how fish of fury works. My understanding is that as a skimmer the warriors can stand under the devilfish, and can't be charged correctly as the devilfish is in 1". But I might just be misunderstanding and they can still be charged correctly.
No, the positioning of the Firewarriors to the Devilfish is not what's important, they don't stand under it. Picture this:

Your opponent can only charge if they are within 6".
Your opponent can't move within 1" of one of your models (i.e. the Devilfish).
If you position the Devilfish in front of your squad at the correct distance, the detour your opponent must take means the distance he must move to go all the way around the Devilfish is such that you are out of charge range. There are more exact measurements and nuances to it, but that's the underlying principle.

Fish of Fury explained in detail.

mephistophales said:
Also, does being under the fish give them a cover bonus?
No.

mephistophales said:
Also, when counting hard/fire points on a crisis suit you only count the weapons right? For example, a suit could have dual plasma, single fusion, multi tracker, and shield generator. The dual plasma and single fusion would fill the hard points, and the multi tracker and shield generator would be the hard wired systems (assuming it's command and has three hard wire points.)
See Tau Codex page 17. A Crisis Suit hardpoint is for Weapons or Support Systems. Putting 3 weapons on a load of your Crisis is usually a bad idea, as even with a multi-tracker you can only fire 2, and you don't have the hardpoint to take the multi-tracker anyway (remember not all units can take Hard-wired systems).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,060 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So this configuration which was suggested to me on the tau forum, HQ - 2x Shas'O (Plasma Rifle, Fusion Rifle, Shield Generator, Hard Wired Multitracker), wouldn't be legal because it takes up 4 hard points, and there are only three.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
771 Posts
A Hardwired device is something on the Shas'o himself--not his suit. Hardwired, essentially, means it doesn't take up a Hardpoint, which in turn means that the configuration you list above is legal. Three hardpoints and one hardwired item (though a Shas'o can, I'm pretty sure, have more than one hardwired item, so it could even be shas'o: plasma, fusion, shield, hardwired multitracker, hardwired drone controller).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,060 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Ok, I think I see now. Weapons are always on hard points, and some support systems can either fill a hard point (multi tracker sensor variant in the codex) or be hard wired into the pilot (multitracker basic, on the pilot.) I meant to say twin linked instead of dual, I was thinking of running my suits with twin linked plasma, single fusion and a multi-tracker.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
638 Posts
See Tau Codex page 17. A Crisis Suit hardpoint is for Weapons or Support Systems. Putting 3 weapons on a load of your Crisis is usually a bad idea, as even with a multi-tracker you can only fire 2, and you don't have the hardpoint to take the multi-tracker anyway (remember not all units can take Hard-wired systems).[/QUOTE]

Multi-tracker allows the wearer to fire two weapon systems in the same turn. Twin-linked plasma rifles are considerd a single system as they can't be fired seperatly. So a TL weapon and another weapon can be fired in the same turn by a commander. That's how I read it.
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top