Librarium Online Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yeah...first, to get two things out of the way: New to this forum, new to Imperial Guard. Now that those are done...

I planned out my 2000 point army (which is at a spankin' 1999, woot) and out of that, I have 131 men (anything that isn't a tank) and 3 tanks. Out of that 131 or so, I have around 51 guys who can infiltrate.

This is due to two things: six hardened veterans, which is fun, and an Infantry Platoon of a Command Squad and four Infantry Squads...I gave that "unit" the Light Infantry Doctrine, allowing them to do all sorts of weird things. Now...just to get this straight, that "unit" is the entire Platoon, right? That's what I get out of it...

And on top of that, wouldn't that be kind of dangerous for opposing armies, having 45 men all of a sudden pop up behind them because of one Doctrine that costs 10 pts? Don't get me wrong...I'm loving it :D I'm just not sure if I'm getting the right meaning. Someone care to explain it?
 

·
Son of LO
Joined
·
2,160 Posts
Well, just a couple things to point out. The first thing is that you have to pay 10 points per each squad that is taking the doctrine. This means that those 45 guys will pay 50 points to be light infantry, which aint bad, but it aint as good as Sharpshooter IMO.
Second is, what exactly do you mean by "pop up behind them" ? You still have to deploy your troops as normal, except that light infantry allows you to deploy those squads following the Infiltrators special rule. Infiltrators is specific for each mission but is usually only one of two things: Deploy anywhere on table up to 18" from enemy troops or get an extra move before game starts.
Deep strike will allow you to pop up behind troops, but there are usually a lot of variables that can make a deep strike go really really wrong; you MIGHT end up behind their troops.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The whole thing I meant by that was this: The Doctrine doesn't say that you have to have it per squad...it says +10 points per unit...now, I don't know if this means squad or Platoon, but the way it makes it sound I think it refers to even a whole Infantry Platoon as one "unit."
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
i think by unit they mean each squad because giving an entire platoon that doctrine for only 10 pts is just insane. I was also wondering how your Hardened Veterans do for you cuz i am thinking about using them ( i am also new to IG)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks for the other thread link and for the answers to all this...one last question, sorry to keep bugging you. Say I had a Platoon with a command squad and 2 infantry squads...that'd be sixty points for carapace armor...but would that technically count as one Doctrine point, or three of the five given?
 

·
Son of LO
Joined
·
2,160 Posts
Once you have spent one of your five points on a doctrine, then you can give your army as much of that doctrine as you want (As long as that troop type can have the doctrine). Spending one of the five points only opens up the possibility of using that doctrine, it doesn't limit you to how many squads or anything. However, with any of the things under the special equipment section you HAVE to apply them to all units that can take them. Carapace armor, therefore, HAS to go on ALL infantry troops if you put it on one infantry troop, and yes, you have to pay the points for every squad it goes on. (CA has the option, however, of only being applied to Rough Riders if you choose)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Oh, dude, thanks...that really scared the crap out of me for a second. So, basically, it just costs a lot of points...aight, thanks a lot for clearing up that situation.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
179 Posts
Were did you get the idea that "all infantry units" would be required to have carapace armour? For instance with drop troop type armies in the previous ig rules, you could field units with carapace armour as well as standard infantry platoons. So what I gathered is that, by choosing the carapace armour (or whatever) as special equipment, you regiment now has the "option" of using said equipment, but not a requirement.
 

·
Son of LO
Joined
·
2,160 Posts
Nope. If you read the paragraph just above the special equipment section it clearly states that if you choose special equipment, then you have to take it for each and every unit that can have it. The only caveat is that you can take SOME pieces of special equipment and only apply it to rough riders, like carapace armor.
Drop Troops, however, is a regimental doctrine and not a piece of special equipment. Drop Troops can be given to ANY unit that you choose as long as it is not a vehicle. ;)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
I was just reading through the Doctrine section in the Codex, and I would like to point out something...

The Codex states:

In several of the following Doctrine descriptions, the term Guard Infantry unit is used. In this context, the definition includes any command squad along with its Officer and any attached advisors, Anti-Tank squads, Fire Support squads, Special Weapons squads, Mortar squards, Hardened Veteran squads, normal Infantry Platoon squads, and Armoured Fit squads.

This states that, technically, if I were to have, say the Carapace Armor doctrine...it would be +20 points per Infantry Platoon and not per squad in that Platoon. Now I'm almost positive that's what the Codex is saying.
 

·
Son of LO
Joined
·
2,160 Posts
Wellllll, yer sorta readin it a little like you want to. But, hey, I wanted to read it the same way when I first bought the codex too.
See where it says: normal Infantry Platoon squads ? That means the squad, not the platoon.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
311 Posts
"This states that, technically, if I were to have, say the Carapace Armor doctrine...it would be +20 points per Infantry Platoon and not per squad in that Platoon. Now I'm almost positive that's what the Codex is saying."

The Codex Clearly defines that 'platoon Infantry squads' (eg. the 10 man squads on page 44) are one example of 'units', and not the entire platoon as ColonelDraken believes. The Codex also clearly outlines that if a 'special equipment' choice is taken then everyone that can take the upgrade must take it (note: except Rough Riders). In other words, if a squad acts independently of other squads during the battle then it costs 20 points for it to be equipped with carapace armour. [Special Note for ColonelDraken: Note I said act independently during the battle, not during deployment, as the platoon is deployed at the time before battle.]

If a Codex has poor wording or ambiguous phrases then try to follow the logical flow of the Codex. Obviously Games Workshop did not intend for an entire Platoon to be given carapace armour for 20 points, that is insanity. If that was their intention then they would have given a 'per squad' value (eg, Warrior Weapons style), as they are fully aware that Platoons have a variable amount of Squads. It is not cool to abuse the wording of a Codex asit is just another form of abuse or cheating if the intention of Games Workshop was obvious!

:w
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
I agree that it's complete insanity for it to be +20 pts. per platoon and not squad...I'm just reading off what the Codex is stating. It doesn't say per Infantry squad...it said specifically "Any command squad along with its Officer and any attached" blah blah...If one were to read that, the Codex is saying the Officer and his attached Infantry squads count as a Guard Infantry unit. There is nothing that makes me think of an individual squad in that wording, and it all makes me think of an officer plus all attached squads count as a unit. I could be wrong, but according to the wording of the Codex I'm probably going to play it like that unless someone with very close ties to GW can explain it for me.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
179 Posts
If a squad is equiped with carapace (or say a platoon HQ squad) would the officers and/or vet. sargeants would still be required to pay the amount of points (I was tempted to list a number, heh) as listed in the "wargear" section or does the special gear apply to tham as well?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
The way I take it, panzer...you pay 20 points per Platoon (or in your case, the entire Command Platoon...all five guys, plus any support squads) and all of them are equipped with the Carapace armor.
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top