Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
346 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My Black Tempalr friend recently aquired a vindicare asassin and wants to use it, i told him he has to take an iquistor lord but he told me he doesn't. Does he?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
236 Posts
I only have the DH codex but it says that in order to use an assasin, you must field an inquisitor or inquisitor lord.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
420 Posts
Yup, you have to have an inquisitor or an inquisitor lord in order to field an assassin. He is probably reffering to the old Codex: Assassins which is no longer valid. In short, you were right partially right (he can field a normal inquisitor), and he was wrong.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
346 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
ok thank you guys questions answered thread could be closed now :yes:
 

·
Ender of Threads
Joined
·
1,306 Posts
smguy said:
In short, you were right partially right (he can field a normal inquisitor), and he was wrong.
No, he's totally right. For DH/WH allies, you only get 1xHQ, 1xElite, 2xTroops, 1xFA, so the assassin eats up the elite slot, therefore you MUST take a Lord in the HQ slot.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,263 Posts
fraid so gone are the days when the standard smurf chapter master could call upon the offico assasinorium or the heroic seniour officer could get down on his hands and knees and beg them to help , now they answer to the 3 ordo's and the 3 ordo's only and wraith was spot on with the allies thing.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
655 Posts
Of course he doesn't have to take an Inquisitor Lord to play with the assassin. The rules, of course, require this. Nothing says you have to play by the rules though. Am I being a little snotty? Of course I am. People get too uptight about what is published by GW, especially considering the quality.

I've played some games against a friend using an assassin (I think Vindicaire... the one that explodes when it dies.) without him fielding the prerequisite lord. It did approximately absolutely nothing to unbalance the game. Let your friend try it for a game or two and see if it unbalances things and be mature about it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,263 Posts
no i think it's the eviseror that blows up the vindicare has the sniper rifle.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
346 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
wait could he take a grandmaster or brother captain instead? well the thing is he cheats all the time so i want to limit him to something
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,532 Posts
HavenDan said:
wait could he take a grandmaster or brother captain instead? well the thing is he cheats all the time so i want to limit him to something
Do you mean a GM or BC instead of an Inquisitor Lord? No - you *must* have an Inquisitor or Lord to use an Assassin, no way around that.

If you meant just taking a GM or BC because he wants one, then yes, he may. Make sure to remember that you may only take 0-1 HQ slots from an allied force, so he cannot have a GM *and* a Lord & Assassin.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,263 Posts
if he really wants all that then tough cus the rules are there in plain black and white and must be followed,
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
346 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
thanks guys, could u guys direct me to teh page in the deamonhunters codex that it states this so i can prove once and for all that hes wrong :shifty:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,263 Posts
in wh it's page 25and 26 i'm not sure abou dh as i don't have the codex with me but it's on the page where it ses "by the authority of the immortal emporer of mankind..." and a shaded section in the list itself
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
346 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
ahh okay thank u very much, ill refer him to it next time we play
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,532 Posts
Page 26, but I see no "by the authority..." anywhere. It's in the box marked "Important Note" on the left side of the page. That's the box that states an Inquisitor or Lord is needed for an Assassin to be used.

Page 21 of the DH codex, in the grey box in the bottom right, is where the number of allied choices taken is limited. If he tries to take an Elite Inquisitor to allow the Assassin, point out this box and how it says that there is only 0-1 Elite choices allowed for allied contingents, and the Assassin fills that slot.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
346 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
haha thanks, so if he takes teh assasin that means he can only have an inquisator )no GM or BC) AND he cant take GK termies! ha! Now he proubaly wont want to use it because GK termies are usually played with his armies. Also, can Inquistators be taken in a Black Templars army? Becaues i thought they couldnt ally with physcers except for grey knights.
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Top