Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I looked at the assault cannon with rending and holy crap! That's pretty nice! One question, though. It says that on a roll of 6, it ignores the armor save and inflicts a wound automatically. Does this ignore invulnerable saves as well?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
355 Posts
You still get to take an invunerable save. If the model in question is T3 it can be auto-killed even if it has multiple wounds.
 

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
975 Posts
No, it doesn't unfortunately otherwise you will see them in every army as character hunters not mass infantry killers.

If it does ignore Invulerable saves it will say it in the description of the weapon BOLD and UNDERLINED if you catch my drift, the only ones that do that are the Necron Lord/ Pharia Warsythe and the psycannon to my knowledge that is
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Are we talking about the same thing here? I'm talking about the rending attribute, not the assault cannon itself.
 

·
LO's Shadow Captain
Joined
·
12,783 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Maybe I'm just not catching on. The rending attribute says that any roll to hit of 6 with a rending weapon will ignore Armor Saves and automatically causes a wound. Thats what I'm questioning. I want to know that if the enemy unit gets a 6 rolled on them, and they have invulnerable saves, do they still take the instant wound or do they not.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
355 Posts
Rending is rending. The only difference would be in reference to auto-killing. That is based on the strength of the weapon used. The instant wound is only if they don't have an invunerable save.
 

·
LO's Shadow Captain
Joined
·
12,783 Posts
CommieNinja said:
Maybe I'm just not catching on. The rending attribute says that any roll to hit of 6 with a rending weapon will ignore Armor Saves and automatically causes a wound. Thats what I'm questioning. I want to know that if the enemy unit gets a 6 rolled on them, and they have invulnerable saves, do they still take the instant wound or do they not.
Yes. Why would an invulnerable save stop a wound from counting as a wound? It doesn't do that for other weapons.

So, here's how it works:

The roll of a six causes an auto-wound that ignores normal armour saves.

Since the model has an invulnerable save, it may take the invulnerable save as normal. If it's passed, no damage. If it's failed, that autowound takes a wound off of the model, as normal.

Make sense? ^_^



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
An add-on, though, regarding the rule "Feel no pain". Would feel no pain trigger if the 6 to hit was rolled for the assault cannon and if the invul save was failed? I imagine it would, but I'm not sure.
 

·
LO's Shadow Captain
Joined
·
12,783 Posts
CommieNinja said:
An add-on, though, regarding the rule "Feel no pain". Would feel no pain trigger if the 6 to hit was rolled for the assault cannon and if the invul save was failed? I imagine it would, but I'm not sure.
Let me check real quick...

By "trigger" do you mean, does it apply? If so, then yes.

Situation:

Assault Cannon player rolls a 6... autowound with no armour save.

But, the Feel No Pain model has an Invulnerable save, but he fails it.

Since the Rending Assault Cannon is not an instant death weapon (if it is, then Feel No Pain doesn't work!) nor a CCW that allows no armour saves, then Feel No Pain still works on a 4+.

However, don't get shooting Rending confused with CC Rending... Feel No Pain doesn't work against CC Rending, but according to the rulebook, it does against shooting Rending.

I hope that explains everything!



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
214 Posts
CommieNinja said:
An add-on, though, regarding the rule "Feel no pain". Would feel no pain trigger if the 6 to hit was rolled for the assault cannon and if the invul save was failed? I imagine it would, but I'm not sure.
Backing up Lost Nemesis's answer:
Simple answer: Yes.

This is because feel no pain is only ignored if the armour save is not allowed due to a CC attack (eg PW, PF, ect.). Since the assault cannon is a gun then yes armour saves are allowed. For more info look in pg 74 of the rulebook.

HPA
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top