Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Enemy A is a single guy.
Enemy A is in combat with Squad1.
Squaq1 pile in and there is a gap in coverage at the back of Enemy A
Squad 2 wants to assault Enemy A but needs to move around to the back.
After movement, Squad 2 can't draw a straight line to the base of Enemy A (but assault range can still make it if they run around squad1 as they charge)

Can Assault moves go around friendly guys?
Would it make a difference if I had to charge around the base of enemy guys?
Can you assault around the corner of something you can't see through (corner of a solid building/cliff)?

Could Squad 2 charge if he is 6" away as the crow flies, but further if measured along the line he must run (ie around something)?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,907 Posts
You may not make an assault move through friendly or enemy models, but you may move around them. However, the total distance traveled must be within the maximum distance the model is able to assault. For example, if the target is 6" away, but the assaulting model must move 7" to get there, the assault move fails.
 

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
907 Posts
and you don't need line of sight to assault.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
190 Posts
Similar situation..

Dude A is fighting squad 1, dude A was in cover at the start of the phase and struck first.

Squad B chages in next turn, does dude A strick first if he attacks squad B?

Because he is cover? But he is also in CC?

The rules do not specificaly state what happens when other squads join a combat that is already happening in cover......

Why do I ask? Some (tools) say they still get to go first even if they are already in CC....
 

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
301 Posts
Da Springy Nids said:
Similar situation..

Dude A is fighting squad 1, dude A was in cover at the start of the phase and struck first.

Squad B chages in next turn, does dude A strick first if he attacks squad B?

Because he is cover? But he is also in CC?

The rules do not specificaly state what happens when other squads join a combat that is already happening in cover......

Why do I ask? Some (tools) say they still get to go first even if they are already in CC....
You want page 34 in the BGB. After the first turn of combat the units are no longer in cover. So they strike in normal order, and are not affected by grenades.
 

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
907 Posts
deadelus and da springy nids, the rules on 34 that you are talking about refer to one combat between 2 units, the unit in cover reverts back to normal initiative against the unit that assaulted them in the second turn.

now what you are talking about Da Springy Nids is starting a new combat with unengaged models from the first unit, this IS treated as a new charge.

sorry but those (tools) were right.

D.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
190 Posts
Lets just make sure we are on the same page...

His Squad A gets charged by my Brood 1..

They fight....Unengaged models pile in 6"

His turn they fight again.... Once again, unengaged models pile in 6" all are now in kill zone..

My turn I send in Brood B around the back into Squad A (who are still fighting Brood A).

Do Squad A get the benefits of cover or not whe fighting Brood B?.....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
93 Posts
Sorry, but i fully disagree with you there Decado. It makes sense that cover is lost after the first round, as the BGB says that after the first round of combat, all benefits of cover are lost. So if brood B charges Squad 1, already engaged with Brood A, no one gets the benefit of cover, as the fighting is swept out of the cover, and Squad 1 are too preoccupied, and busy to take advantage of cover.

Here's a little story to show you what I mean, and what would be absolutely ridiculous, as a guy at my club tried it on me.

Private:Uh oh! they're charging! *runs forward and stabs a gaunt with his bayonet*
Sarge:Just keep on fighting! *parries a gaunts talon* Hey look, more gaunts!
Private:I'll stop fighting with this gaunt , and then he won't kill me while I get into position to counter the other gaunts!
Sarge:Men! Stab the new ones! *leaps out of a bush and stabs a gaunt*
*Other gaunts decide to start attacking, but the guardsmen have cover, even though they were fighting others, that miraculously decided to stop eating them*

Yeah right...

It would be more like this

Private:Uh oh! they're charging! *runs forward and stabs a gaunt with his bayonet*
Sarge:Just keep on fighting! *parries a gaunts talon*
*Other brood of gaunts charges*
Private:Sarge!
Sarge:Yeah?
Private:does it seem like there's more than before?
Sarge:I dunno, but we sure don't have the advantage of cover anymore, we've been swept up in a combat! RETREAT! *Gets run down, gaunts proceed to eat them for dinner.*
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,907 Posts
Yeah, after the first round, cover is ignored. The problem is more of how one deals with the various Initiative values, some of which would only be used against certain enemies. For example:

Army A's Squad A (AA) has I4 and is in cover
Army B's Squad A (BA) has I5 and is in combat with AA
Army B's Squad B (BB) has I5 and assaulting AA and uses Frag Grenades

If cover still counted, that would mean that AA has I10 vs BB, but I4 bs BA. BB also has I10 from grenades. This would mean that AA and BB would strike each other before BB is struck or stikes, which is kinda wierd, since a model in AA that is in base contact with both BA and BB would have a different initiative depending on who he attacks. Rules-wise, it could work, but as I said it's weird and it would be rather annoying to deal with. It's much simpler for models to have a single Initiative value. . .
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
138 Posts
Ostsol said:
Yeah, after the first round, cover is ignored. The problem is more of how one deals with the various Initiative values, some of which would only be used against certain enemies. For example:

Army A's Squad A (AA) has I4 and is in cover
Army B's Squad A (BA) has I5 and is in combat with AA
Army B's Squad B (BB) has I5 and assaulting AA and uses Frag Grenades

If cover still counted, that would mean that AA has I10 vs BB, but I4 bs BA. BB also has I10 from grenades. This would mean that AA and BB would strike each other before BB is struck or stikes, which is kinda wierd, since a model in AA that is in base contact with both BA and BB would have a different initiative depending on who he attacks. Rules-wise, it could work, but as I said it's weird and it would be rather annoying to deal with. It's much simpler for models to have a single Initiative value. . .
Although this is kind of a different topic it sounds like a nice place to throw it in. Just remember that when charging a unit that is in cover only the MODELS in cover get the bonus not the entire squad.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,066 Posts
The problem here seems to be the use of "...the first turn of combat..." or similar in the rules (don't have my copy handy).
Quite simply, using Ostsol's labeling, the turns of the combat go as follows:
Turn 1
AA vs BA. Say unit BA charged unit AA. AA stikes at I4 while unit Ba strikes at I1 because AA is in cover.​
Turn 2-n
AA vs BA. Both units strike at their normal Initiative.​
Turn n-end
AA vs BA and BB. Unit BB assaults unit AA. Cover doesn't count (because the 1st turn of cambat has passed) and as such Frag grenades are not usable and all three units strike at their normal Initiative (4 for AA 5 for BA and BB).​
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top