Librarium Online Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i am very new to warhammer 40k, just started about a week ago. I am playing chaos, and i baught the battle force. I've painted 3 Khorne Berserkers, and i've been having a problem.

(I prime them black) for the red areas i've been having to put maybe 3 or 4 coats of red on(to get a nice effect, meaning no primer showing), over black primer. i've used the citadel paints blood red, scab red, and red gore, but its still the same each time.

i tried using white primer, and it only need 1 or 2 coats. but then it doesn't give it the nice dark dark red look.

what should i do?

·
Lord of the Household
1,733 Posts
Welcome!

Well, you will come across this problem with several different paints from the Citadel line. Among these are especially red, yellow and white.

If you want a cool dark red colour for your Khorne Berserkers you could mix the red paint with a bit of black and paint over white undercoat.
Unfortunately, you don't really have a choice when using red.. You can't paint over black properly. I recommend you undercoat them in white and use black ink to create a shady effect.

Don't paint several coats of red... It's not a very good way of painting and it will ruin the detail of the miniature...

-Rob

·
Registered
148 Posts
simple fix

Hi there and welcome!

There is a very simple fix to your problem! Red and white and yellow and the metal colors do not like other colors on them or under them. They tend to bleed. The best way to correc this is to buy flat laquer in a spray can. Once you base coat your model with black or white, you have to spray your models and wait for a few hours for the clear to dry.