Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The rules say infantry can break away from close combat with vehicles with no weapon skill and vehicles can break away from infantry.

I know infantry cant break away from the dreadnought because it has a WS but can the dreadnought break away from infantry? It is a vehicle after all.

Can dreadnoughts (walkers) shoot at one unit and assault another unit?
 

·
Suffer not the Unclean
Joined
·
2,251 Posts
Nope, p72, walkers fight in the same way as infantry. All rules that apply to a trooper apply to the walker. Unlike a normal vehicle, they do become 'locked' so cannot leave combat.

No one can shoot one unit and then assault another without a special rule that says so.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i guess it make sense thank.

What if you killed the whole unit in the shooting phase...can you then assault another unit?
 

·
The ORIGINAL Sniper Puss
Joined
·
2,841 Posts
No. You *must* assault the unit you shot at. If you wipe out that unit with shooting, then you cannot assault anything else. This is why you should always be careful about how much firepower you apply against an enemy unit, as the end result could leave your own unit high and dry and in great danger of return fire/assault.

E.
 

·
Dark Eldar Zealot
Joined
·
3,699 Posts
No. You *must* assault the unit you shot at. If you wipe out that unit with shooting, then you cannot assault anything else. This is why you should always be careful about how much firepower you apply against an enemy unit, as the end result could leave your own unit high and dry and in great danger of return fire/assault.

E.
Agreed, you do have the choice "not" to shoot with any of your individual models (page 18 BGB) and herein lies some of the tactics involved in 40K.

Cheers.
 

·
Ancient Spacefarer
Joined
·
1,715 Posts
Can dreadnoughts (walkers) shoot at one unit and assault another unit?
Like everyone else I will agree with the others on this one, the answer is definitely no.

Dreadnaughts are treated as infantry but with an Armour Value that can still get locked in combat. Think about it, if you were a two thousand year old with untold victories and battles under your belt, you will find that walking away from CC is a little unwise and is dishonourable by turning your back to them. Only to be shot at ;)

At least your Dreaddie will be safe from heavy weaponry! ;Y

-Kai-Itza-
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
324 Posts
The rules say infantry can break away from close combat with vehicles with no weapon skill and vehicles can break away from infantry.

I know infantry cant break away from the dreadnought because it has a WS but can the dreadnought break away from infantry? It is a vehicle after all.

Can dreadnoughts (walkers) shoot at one unit and assault another unit?
as stated by others, the answer is no, the clincher is that walkers HAVE a WS and so get locked up regardless as to who assaulted who. The difference is that walkers tend to survive close combat better than infantry due to having armor value of 10+. Plus, to get hit with a grenade requires a lucky dice roll.

One thing to also keep in mind is that walkers CAN get overwhelmed by numerous combatants and cna take wounds by simply being outnumbered.
 

·
Ender of Threads
Joined
·
1,306 Posts
as stated by others, the answer is no, the clincher is that walkers HAVE a WS and so get locked up regardless as to who assaulted who. The difference is that walkers tend to survive close combat better than infantry due to having armor value of 10+. Plus, to get hit with a grenade requires a lucky dice roll.

One thing to also keep in mind is that walkers CAN get overwhelmed by numerous combatants and cna take wounds by simply being outnumbered.
Yeah, Dreads tend to have it easy in combat - most troops are helpless and easily squashed, while the Dread is nearly invincible. End result? The Dread usually wins, and it can then run things down.

And while they can be overwhelmed, there are some VITAL CONDITIONS that must be met: first, you've got to be outnumbered - in the case of a dread, you're looking at 2+ normal squads, minimum. Second, you've got to actually lose the fight, and that requires at least S6 attacks or lucky grenades - both somewhat rare outside of assault specialist squads. Not easily done.

And just because it really can't be overstated... A WALKER MUST LOSE A ROUND OF COMBAT TO SUFFER THE EXTRA GLANCE FOR BEING OVERWHELMED!!!!!!!!! YOU CAN THROW A MILLION GUARDSMEN AT A DREAD - THEY STILL HAVE TO HURT HIM FIRST!!!
 
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
Top