Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
768 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there I'm new to IG and was wondering if it's worth to give your whole army caraphace armour. if not when or who should I give caraphace armour.

·
Registered
232 Posts
If you look in the Doctrines section near the end of the book, under Special Equipment, it gives you he option for giving all your models Carapace Armor; however, it's usually just plain not worth it since:

1. Every race has some kind of special weapon with multiple shots/Blast at AP4.

2. If your enemy takes lots of these, the save will be of most use in close combat, where Guardsmen tend to die anyway.

3. Cameleoline and Jungle Fighters give you an equal or better cover save for fewer points.

On the other hand, it's probably worth putting on your Officers, since anything that keeps them (and their Command Radius) in the game is worth the points.

·
Master of Those Damn Durable Swords
646 Posts
Yeah I prefer cameoline over carapce anyday. If you find good cover, you get that +1 which in most cases brings you to a 4+ save anyway. And if you find really good cover, ou may even get a 3+....but that kind of cover is few n far between.

·
Registered
598 Posts
carapace armor has it's merits, because there is an amazing overabundence of ap5 crap floating around. However, it has to then be given to the WHOLE army, which gets expensive, fast. I prefer to be armored in numbers.

The best way to use carapace armor would be on Rough Riders or Xeno Mounts, because unlike the rest of your army it SHOULD be in close combat and it's cheapest to do it like that. Also, if you combine carapace and xeno mounts, you've got Guardsmen with the equivilant of power armor. I don't imagine people playing guardsmen usually think to bring a lot of power weapons or ap3 guns, so they may be in for a nasty surprise.