Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does a Carnifex function on his own, or does he have to be synapse to function normally? Doesn't seem to make it clear in the book. Thanks.
 

·
Supreme Evil Overlord
Joined
·
4,873 Posts
The fex works just like any other models that out of synapse rnage, you take a test for it at the beggining of the turn it isn't in range.
 

·
Too Sexy For My Whirlwind
Joined
·
1,148 Posts
I believe that is definately not correct eh. The Fex' is fearless, as are Lictors, and i'm quite sure that they don't ever have to worry about synapse because of this. So yes, the carnifex(and lictors) function on their own. Also keep in mind that both genestealers and biovores have brood telepathy and thus function like normal non-fearless troops outside of synapse.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,907 Posts
Instinctive Behaviour tests are Leadership tests, which aren't covered by Fearlessness. However, Fearlessness does prevent a Carnifex from falling back in if it does happen to fail the test.
 

·
Too Sexy For My Whirlwind
Joined
·
1,148 Posts
Indeed, so they are basically immune to the debilitating effects of being outside synapse (except that lictors are now instakillable with STr 8+ weapons). The only way to get them to fall back is abilities that ignore fearlessness(Deceiver's "deceive" for example).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,907 Posts
I'm not sure about that, even. . . It says that the target automatically fail the test, but fearlessness also prevents models from falling back or being pinning. As such, even if the fearless unit fails its test, there will be no effect. At least, that's how it seems to me. . .
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
953 Posts
For shooty fexes this is never a problem anyway. Even though you must check for instinctive behavior there is no chance of falling back unless you decide to move. since my shooty fexes sit still all game it's never even been an issue.
 

·
Too Sexy For My Whirlwind
Joined
·
1,148 Posts
I'm not sure about that, even. . . It says that the target automatically fail the test, but fearlessness also prevents models from falling back or being pinning. As such, even if the fearless unit fails its test, there will be no effect. At least, that's how it seems to me. . .
If your referring to the Deceivers ability it doesn't make the target automatically fail the test, it just makes them take one....and its been FAQ'd many a time that it Does work on fearless models.
 
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
Top