Librarium Online Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
849 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking at the LOTR models for the Cave Troll inspired me to use them as Ork powerhouses!! They're just so perfect!! Stupid, Big, Green, and a huge swingy mace to hit fings wit'! The Rules are very similar to the Wyvern rules i posted in another topic. Here they are:

0-2 Troll Squad

Troll: 30 points

WS BS S T W I A Ld Sv
5 2 7 5 3 2 3 5 5+

squad size: 1-3 Trollz

Lead along: The Troll squad must include 4-8 Gretchin and a Slaver. The Slaver may be given any equipment allowed from the Ork armoury.

Stupid: At the beggining of every Ork turn, the Slaver must take a leadership test for each troll to see if he can control it for that turn. Roll on the table below:

1-7: The test is passed and the trolls commanded as normal.

8: The troll stands stupified in the midst of a fire fight. It may not move, shoot, or assault this turn. All 'to hit' rolls against the trolls hit on a 2+ regardless of BS or WS.

9: The troll roars and begins to shake violently! Have your opponent place a small blast template with the center on the troll. Any models under the template are hit automatically and partial cover hits on a 4+ with a S6 hit. This includes friendly units!

10: The troll bellows and charges forward in a fit of anger! Roll a scatter dice and a D6. Any model within the path of the troll with a T4 or lower is removed as a casualty (including friendly units). This rule does not apply to the Slaver as he is at least smart enough to run out of the way.

11: The troll roars and picks up one the grotz as food! Remove one grot slave within 2" as a casualty.

12: The Troll is truly *****ed off and runs forward in feral anger! Double the trolls iniative and ignore all armor saves of models hit by the troll (excepting invunerable). The troll will move 2D6" and attack any unit (excluding friendly) until a leadership test is passed by the Slaver.

Giant Spear: The Troll may wield a giant metal spear attached to a chain. One troll in the squad may take this option for an extra 25 points. The spear is a ranged weapon and has the following profile:
Rng: 12" S: As troll AP:4 Type: Assault 1
The spear rolls 2d6 for Armour penatration against vehicles.

Mace: The troll is normally armed with a huge mace and a chain. If the troll does not take a spear, it may count all of its attacks if it is 2" away from the target.

They're Gone!!: If all of the Gretchin slaves and Slaver are killed, the Troll must take a Leadership test at the beggining of every Ork turn. If it is failed, the troll gets the hell out of there and is removed from the table. It counts as being destroyed for Victory points purposes.

There you have it! Comments and critisism welcome!! :D
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
190 Posts
A novel idea, however i must post something that might take the wind out of your sails...

Due to the licencing agreement GW has with Lord of the Rings, you Cannot use GW LotR figures in Warhammer or 40K, nor can you use any parts as conversions. Note that this is for Tournaments...(where I found this out) and playing at GW stores. Most local gaming stores probably wouldn't mind but I just wanted to give you a heads up. Its along the same lines of recording a sports event on TV without express written permission from the league. You could get away with it in friendly games but woe be to those who may get caught...

Play Nice
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
849 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'll just use 'em to play my friends..... I wasn't even planning on playing in Tourneys with them!! If I use them for tourneys, I'll use completely different models, maybe old stone trolls from Warhammer......
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
735 Posts
That is the first I heard about that one. The LOTR minis are true 25mm anyway, so most of the parts are to small for conversion work.
I'll have to do a little research into dis one...WAAAGH!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
377 Posts
40K has never claimed to be 25mm, it's 28mm.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
849 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Aren't most of the minis for LOTR one piece anyway? So no conversion for us..... oh well..... But the biggest model that i have seen so far would have to be the model for the Balrog... That thing is frekkin huge!!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
735 Posts
The Balrog could make fer a good Blood Thirster you would think.
Yeah 28mm fer warhammer and 40k. LOTR is a bit smaller at 25mm.
WAAAGH!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
969 Posts
They may be one piece, but have you ever heard of a dremel? B)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
849 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
A dremel, yeah if it survives! But yeah, I think the Balrog would make a kickass Bloodthrister!! Just add some Chaos bitz and bam!! :lol:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
849 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Thanks Elandili!! I'll probably go buy one this afternoon...... And test out the rules in a few weeks.... ;) I'll post the results afterward......
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
849 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Okay I've decided to reopen this topic for discussion. Would love to have more thoughts and input on this topic. Fire away!! I've also worked on the rules a little better. New inclusions and some things taken out. Will post when I'm finished typing them..... :rolleyes:
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top