Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
156 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Frankly, I really like the idea of having a squad or two of termies tearing into the enemy, but as far as I've heard, they are slow, so they normally die under enemy fire. :<

How would you make assualt termies viable in a DA army? :p
 

·
Slave to the flesh
Joined
·
3,354 Posts
Deep strike them in, thats pratically the only way to get CC termies into combat alive.

Throwing them in a LRC does work but its one huge fire magnet, but they can assault out of it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,810 Posts
If you absolutely must use them, the ONLY way to go is in a LR. Deepstriking Assualt termies is pretty useless as they can not move or assault the round they deepstrike. This lets your target move away from you and as termies are slow, your target can keep running and youll never catch them.

Unfortunately CC Termies + LR is incredibly expensive and your oponent will do his best to destroy the LR. I would really recommend normal termies. They are still fantastic in close combat, but have the shooty power to not be useless if they cant catch anything.
 

·
LO Zealot
Joined
·
1,082 Posts
I'd DS them as said. True that they will be vurnable to fire, but make sure you give your little enemy some other targets to worry about.

CC termies are pretty beastly in close combat, and can shred a lot of things.. though it woudln't really be a large unit, if I'd ever field with them, as they are a little hard to get into there.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
26 Posts
So, you can assault out of a LR? is that a special rule because I thought you couldn't assault out of Rhinos anymore... no rhino rush and all that.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
215 Posts
The best way to get Assault Terminators stuck in is to alreay have an assault going on. If you can get into assault with an assault squad then your terminators will have to time to reach the fight. Or if your enemy runs an army built to assualt you could proboly just wait for him.
In the end Normal terminators are usualy the best bet, but the modles arent nearly as cool.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
771 Posts
zgeist said:
So, you can assault out of a LR? is that a special rule because I thought you couldn't assault out of Rhinos anymore... no rhino rush and all that.
Yes. Land Raiders have the 'assault ramp' special rule which models to disembark from them and assault after they've moved.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
335 Posts
They are hard to use. To DS them properly they should come into play between 2 enemy units.

XXXXXX
XXX <- bad guys


YYYYY <- termis

XXXXXXXXX
XXXXX <- more bad guys

haha, nice

You also need a unit that will reach CC or that is in CC with one of the bad guys above when the termis DS. That way while they are sitting around doing nothing after the DS, if the unit in CC makes the enemy fall back, they fall back into you and die. Then the termis charge the other guys next turn (or they will be charged since the guy is pissed about your termis wiping out an entire unit without even rolling dice).

Becareful of the scatter roll, that part can still suck.

good luck
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
655 Posts
I don't know how I feel about a LRC full of assault terminators. That's roughly 600 (700 if you use a Chaplain) points in one basket. It does work, however, if they make it.

DS/Drop Pods can work okay for them, but only if you're fairly CC oriented. If they're the third CC squad in an area, you're in good shape. If they're the first... they're getting popped.
I've -thought- about keeping them behind (or just before) firing lines in order to absorb charges in place of shooty units. This is -entirely- a thought experiment at this point though. I don't know if they're good enough to justify having 200+ points just sitting around waiting to be used.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
215 Posts
Bob Dole said:
I don't know how I feel about a LRC full of assault terminators. That's roughly 600 (700 if you use a Chaplain) points in one basket. It does work, however, if they make it.
Thats the most fun unit in the game...
 

·
LO's unofficial Jester
Joined
·
2,900 Posts
You can also use footslogging termies as guards for tactical squads or HQ's which are normally vulnerable to assaults.

In addition remember background wise when and why terminators are used, heavy urban shock assaults so deepstriking is very effective but so is attacking an area the enemy won't move from, if they are defending a bunker for example.

To sum up Terminators aren't very good at attacking dynamic and manouverable enemies but are excellent for holding/attacking large numbers of low grade troops or static defenses
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
178 Posts
hm i use them all the time. Ok i use the tactics which go like this:

x=bad guy H=termies(CC) NUKE= nukeclear explosion




xxxxxxxxxx HHHHH
xxxxxxxx
xx NUKE xxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxx

Anyway i use them to deepstrke in mid-game (with a dread in a pod)
they think muahahah as their nightbring KO's a whole comand squad and his warriors kill my snipers and he thinks. hahah he has only 2 marines left!
and i say hahah and deepstrike my termies (and chappie) and a venerable tooled-up dread
and hes like noooooooooo
and im like yaaaaaaaaaaaaay
and hes like *sob sob sob*
and my termies go somwhere the dread kills the nightbringer and the termies kill the rest
it does work
 

·
Too Sexy For My Whirlwind
Joined
·
1,148 Posts
Um...Shrike...I think that was one of the biggest incomplete blabbering messes i've ever seen. I really only made out the part at the end about your dread killing the NB...which i know doesn't work, so I'm going toa ssume the rest of what you said was about as useless, but i'm not sure.

As for the Assault Termies, I play them in a LRC, but only in larger games. They aren't worth it in smaller games, but when you've got the points they can be the hammer of your army.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
261 Posts
Again, this question requres what your preference is...it all comes down to whether you are a risk-taker or if your a little more cautious...

1. You are a risk taker: :w00t: An LRC with a full payload of Assault Termies are a horribly powerful combination, rightly feared by any army in the game. The LRC's weapons systems will maul through just about anything, Hurricane Bolters eating up troops, Melti-Melta to pop tanks, and Assault Cannon to do both (Rending RULES!). Thanks to the LRC's 14 all-around armor, you have no reason not to trundel it right into the heart of the enemy. Within a turn or two, you would have safely delievered the Termies directly into combat, the LRC's frag launchers making sure your Termies assault first, (at least the ones with power claws) killing practically anything they come in contact with. :spell: Then load them back up and do it again! Its risky...but so worth it!!!

2. You're cautious: :shifty: 700+ points all wrapped up in one nice neat little target? NO WAY! Even just visually, the LRC is the biggest tank out there on the board, and thats going to generate alot of hate. Load it up with 250+ points of squishy models and you might as well paint a bulls-eye on the thing and pull it's pants down. :hump: It's going to get clobbered by anything and everything on the board that your opponent has. Yes, 14 armor all-around is one of the best in the game, but not impossible to get around or punch through. Even a glancing hit can immobilize this huge points-sink, making it totally worthless and your Termies will have to foot-slog up the board anyways, at the mercy of the opponent's firing lines. It'd be a good idea to try something else instead.

Whichever way you think, go with it. It'll be more fun for you. Try to set yourself up tactically for the win, but even the most perfect of strategies can be unravelled by sheer dumb luck.

If you want to use Assault Termies in and LRC, my advice is to set up your army to support it. If you were too lose it, of course youre going to be at a disadvantage, but the game shouldn't be lost. It shouldn't be the capstone of your army, just a really big, really powerful, really intimidating hammer!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,810 Posts
CaptShrike said:
hm i use them all the time. Ok i use the tactics which go like this:

x=bad guy H=termies(CC) NUKE= nukeclear explosion




xxxxxxxxxx HHHHH
xxxxxxxx
xx NUKE xxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxx

Anyway i use them to deepstrke in mid-game (with a dread in a pod)
they think muahahah as their nightbring KO's a whole comand squad and his warriors kill my snipers and he thinks. hahah he has only 2 marines left!
and i say hahah and deepstrike my termies (and chappie) and a venerable tooled-up dread
and hes like noooooooooo
and im like yaaaaaaaaaaaaay
and hes like *sob sob sob*
and my termies go somwhere the dread kills the nightbringer and the termies kill the rest
it does work
Aside from being quite annoying, there are a couple problems with this.

First off, its impossible for your chaplain to come into play deepstriking with assault terminators. They can not start the game as a squad and hence would deepstrike seperately.

Secondly, while technically a dread could kill the nightbringer, it is probably the least likely thing that could ever happen in 40k. Not only does the NB go before the dread, not only does he get way more attacks, not only does he hit it far too easilly but he damages it as easilly as a marine damages a guardsman (easier actually). For the life of me, I cant see a dread taking out the NB. ESPECIALLY coming out of a pod.

I just felt that had to be brought up.
 

·
LO's unofficial Jester
Joined
·
2,900 Posts
CaptShrike said:
hm i use them all the time. Ok i use the tactics which go like this:

x=bad guy H=termies(CC) NUKE= nukeclear explosion




xxxxxxxxxx HHHHH
xxxxxxxx
xx NUKE xxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxx

Anyway i use them to deepstrke in mid-game (with a dread in a pod)
they think muahahah as their nightbring KO's a whole comand squad and his warriors kill my snipers and he thinks. hahah he has only 2 marines left!
and i say hahah and deepstrike my termies (and chappie) and a venerable tooled-up dread
and hes like noooooooooo
and im like yaaaaaaaaaaaaay
and hes like *sob sob sob*
and my termies go somwhere the dread kills the nightbringer and the termies kill the rest
it does work
The ONLY reason I can think of as to how the dread killed the NB is if it had already suffered some wounds. But overall this post was a bit wierd/pointless.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
178 Posts
brb,sri

hmm i dont know what i was thinking when i posted that, but hey. and my dread killed the NB, he was on 3 wounds and i attracked him dealing out another with my dread, he killed my dread with vehicle destroyed:( but it was venerable!:yes: so i asked him to re-roll the thingy:shifty: it was crew stunned:w00t: so i carried on afther 1 more turn of a hard duel, my DW team annhilated him with hellfire rounds:O and to this day forward my dread is named NB killer boy:)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
122 Posts
there are two ways to get CC termies up cose either infiltrate scout squad with telehomer (your stuffed if you dont have infilrate in the mission, im suprised no one mentioned this before) you assault with the scouts DS behind them then charge next turn preety simple, the other is the land raider and thats already been covered enough....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
381 Posts
Chaosbrynn said:
First off, its impossible for your chaplain to come into play deepstriking with assault terminators. They can not start the game as a squad and hence would deepstrike seperately.
I've seen this posted before....didn't think anything of it. Could I get a page number or something? Thanks.

Back to the original....assault termies are garbage. They will never make up their points...EVER! To hard to get them into combat. Don't waste you time. Regular termies are rock hard and they can shoot eight rending shots and some storm bolters....then assault. Eight rending shots makes the enemy do one of two things. Close with you OR mass fire.
Sometimes you make it sometimes you don't but you put out a bunch of firepower before you go down. Most of the time though I have manged to make it to CC with regular termies.
 
1 - 20 of 31 Posts
Top