Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Suffer not the Unclean
Joined
·
2,251 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hope this is an easy one.

If a character charges out of a unit, is he restricted to charging targets within the unit's charge arc, or can he shoot off in any direction a character would normally be allowed to charge?
 

·
I've had enough!
Joined
·
2,041 Posts
Gday,

i dont have the rulebook on me at work, but I reckon as he is part of a rank and file unit, he will be restricted to the rules of a rank and file unit, so can only charge targets in HIS charge arc (I dont thinnk you'd use the units' charge arc, as they are not charging...much in the same wasy as shooting is done.)

When I get home, Ill try to confirm, unless someone else beats me to it

Regards, Tim
 

·
Fun guy from Yuggoth
Joined
·
772 Posts
Correct me if I'm wrong (I don't have my rulebook on me to investigate), but here's my take: It seems like as soon as he leaves the unit he regains his LOS rules, so if you leave the unit before declaring charges then he can charge just like any unjoined character. However, in most cases this is irrelevant, because the rest of the unit would block his LOS - if he's in the front rank of the unit and not in a corner, he can only actually see 90 degrees straight forwards because of the guys on either side of him.
 

·
King of Librarium's Tombs
Joined
·
7,143 Posts
The Character wont be able to leave the unit before declaring charges, hence, if he declares to charge out of a unit, the unit he is charging must be within the Characters own LoS. In the general case, for any standard character in the front rank of a unit, this is a 90 degree arc (measured from the Characters base, not the whole units!)
 

·
I've had enough!
Joined
·
2,041 Posts
Its been hard trying to find rules for this situation, but this is what Ive found.

Bottom of page 72 says that if a character joins a unit he 'becomes part of that unit'. I would say he follows the normal rules for the unit he's joined, so his arc of sight is reduced to 90 deg (as explained on page 18). If hes with skermishers, it's 360 degrees, and so on.

Bottom of page 73 says the character leaves the unit 'when he charges out of it'. So, until he moves, he's part of the unit.

It's not the most solid argument, but i think it's the best. If someone can find something else, then feel free to chime in.

Moglun, This situation would probably come up a little more if the character was right on the corner of a unit. If the flank was threatened by, say, fast cav, then could a character charge at them and mow them down? Id say no, as the unit cant see him, and the character is part of the unit.

Regards, Tim
 

·
King of Librarium's Tombs
Joined
·
7,143 Posts
You have that pretty much correct Tim. A character that is part of a unit must follow all their rules for movement, LoS, etc until he leaves that unit.
 
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top