Librarium Online Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK here's the deal, I've been playing 40K for about 12 years now and have a very extensive collection of old miniatures( how may of you remember when all marines wore MK6 armor and Terminators looked nothing like they do now?). I've got quite a few miniatures that can no longer be played with due to rule changes/ army changes. I would like to be able to abuse quite a few of these for conversions in my current army. Can anyone reccomend a good way to remove paint from metal miniatures? Obviously plastics are pretty much out of the question as they will most likely melt. Any advice I can be given on this matter will eb greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
485 Posts
Try using oven cleaner ( the one on spraycan) This can be used on both metal and plastic without ruining the mini. I have tried this myself with good result. I just keep spraying the mini and scrubs it with a toothbrush.

·
Registered
1,961 Posts
Putting them into turpentine or acetate for a few days works pretty good, then you just need to clean them with an old toothbrush.

Cleaning plastic models is possible too - with brake fluid. It's less effective than turpentine, but it doesn't harm the plastic.

PS: MasterBelial typed faster...

jwu

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I'm sorry if a thread was already started on this subject, I just joined this board yesterday. I attempted to find an answer without much luck.
I really appreciate the quick response I recieved. I'm going to get busy on this project this weekend and I'm going to keep a visual record. So hopefully when I finish I'll be able to show a quality step-by-step.

Thanks to all,
Uncle Jesse

·
Registered
190 Posts
Cleaning Mini's