Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got a few questions relating to cover that I am not 100% sure about, as well as one for the assault.
First, if my Tactical Marines are right in front of my dreadnought two scenarios.
Do I get a cover save if infantry shoot at them(E.G. Missile Launching Devastators)
Do I get a cover save if a veichle with a higher up weapon shoots at him (E.G. Lascannon Predator)
Finally,
Do you have to be in base contact with a specific model to attack it? So, if I had my Master of the Forge join my tactical unit, and the tacticals assaulted and got into base contact with each enemy. If my master of the forge (per example) was not in base contact of enemies, but is withing 2" of a marine who is, can he attack/be attacked? thanks ^^
 

·
The ORIGINAL Sniper Puss
Joined
·
2,841 Posts
Master of the Forge is an Independent Character, therefore follows the rules on P.49 BRB, "ICs and Assaults" paragraph 2 lines 9 and 10. So no, your MotF could not be hit nor could he attack if he was not in base contact.

Shooting at the Dreadnought with your Tactical Marines right in front of it should mean that 50% of the side facing the enemy would be obscured so I reckon he would get a cover save.

As far as the vehicle-mounted weapon is concerned, you would have to get down and do a model's eye view of the situation. If more than 50% of the targetted facing could be seen, then there would be no cover save.

E.
 

·
This is for the haters...
Joined
·
1,308 Posts
Cover is determined by being obscured by true LoS. Check los from the models eyes or the gun barrel for vehicles and if the target unit is 50+% obscured they get a cover save

It's that simple


For your assault question, Yes and No. The 2" rule applys to models within the unit, so if 10 Tacs are in combat and 5 are in B2B and the other 5 are within 2" of the 5 in B2B then they can attack.

However ICs in combat become their own unit for assault. So an IC will have to be in B2B to attack/be attack, being within 2" on the unit he had join will not work
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,638 Posts
Got a few questions relating to cover that I am not 100% sure about, as well as one for the assault.
First, if my Tactical Marines are right in front of my dreadnought two scenarios.
Do I get a cover save if infantry shoot at them(E.G. Missile Launching Devastators)
Do I get a cover save if a veichle with a higher up weapon shoots at him (E.G. Lascannon Predator)
You need to check the line of sight for the weapons shooting in each case; the unit needs 50% of its members with cover to get it, the vehicle needs 50% of its hull covered to get cover.


Finally,
Do you have to be in base contact with a specific model to attack it? So, if I had my Master of the Forge join my tactical unit, and the tacticals assaulted and got into base contact with each enemy. If my master of the forge (per example) was not in base contact of enemies, but is withing 2" of a marine who is, can he attack/be attacked? thanks ^^
Independent Characters are treated as separate units in close combat, therefore they may not "contribute" attacks. They must be base to base.

:beer:
 

·
Too Sexy For My Whirlwind
Joined
·
1,148 Posts
Master of the Forge is an Independent Character, therefore follows the rules on P.49 BRB, "ICs and Assaults" paragraph 2 lines 9 and 10. So no, your MotF could not be hit nor could he attack if he was not in base contact.
To add to that it should be clarified that while your MoF cannot attack or be attacked if he's not in base to base he also must attempt to make base to base contact if possible, he cannot willfully try to stay back out of the combat if he has the movement to make it in.
 
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top