Librarium Online Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
1,019 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was reading some Tactic article on some page and i noticed the "...you cant draw a line of sight through cover."
Then i remembered a fight me and my friend had had when we had a relatively small arguement about cover.

Lets say i have a marine standing behind a rock that can reach his knees. Does that count as cover when it comes to shooting? And if it doesnt what does? (or is that something you have to decide yourself? :unsure: )
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
523 Posts
Important before you start any game is to say what cover is and isnt on the board for both your sakes. I dont know how many times I'd being thinking one thing and want to use some piece of terrain I thought would provide a cover save where my opponent did not.

My understanding is anything your troops stand behind and blocks them to some degree is cover and provides some kind of save depending on whether its hard or soft cover. Also if you have a squad behind a section of cover that is taller than your models like a forest and your troops are not in it your opponenet can not fire at you nor can you fire at them.

Hope that helps, any further thoughts?
 

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
1,019 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Just this.

If i cant claim a cover save bonus from it, can it still block LoS regarding what models can be targetted and not? Or does it have to be designated cover? (like my example rock from before).

So you both just say what is cover and whats not before the game? ok, that makes sense thanx.

I was fighting my friends tyranids awhile ago and we had a weird situation. We had built some terrain using some books and such. And we had the situation when my guys had some high ground and could see some of the top part of the Tyranids (Like half of the torso and such). Is there some official rule for when a model can be targetted and not? (we just rolled a d6 not knowing if there was any rule)

Btw: Not wanting to start another thread for a simple question. If i declare a charge and theyre not within (the usual 6") range. Then nothing happens right? they just stand still?
AND
I am right when i say that NO weapon can exceed 10 in strength, right?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,770 Posts
Ok this I have asked GW about a dozen times...
Here's the answer I got from them...

"The models themselves should be counted as individuals that think for themselves.
Provided that they have some sort of cover avaliable they will use it, whether it is staying behind a tree or lying down behind a rock.
Further to count scenery as cover the scenery, say a rock has to be at least half the size of the model.
When it comes to LOS it is rather up the player, the models are not more than normal, they are not able to hover their weapons above them in order to get a clear shot...
So LOS is counted as blocked when pieces of terrain is at least 2/3's of the models height, e.g. the scenery reaches up to about around their necks."
 

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
1,019 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
What about mud/tar pits?
They arent half the models height (unless they've sunk) but it states that they provide cover.
Would you think i cant shoot through the mud/tar pits, or is it just counted as grass when it comes to shooting?

Also concerning the cover thingy. I fight Tyranids mostly and they've got some big models. (Since the nearest store is about 4 hours away. And i have to travel by ship and bus to get there. I dont really have experienced adivce on hand which might explain my excessive questioning. Back to the question.)
I was wondering if a Tyranid Warrior behind some sandbags is in any less cover than for instance a Guardsman behind some sandbags?

Heres another one (there is a couple of us asking 'ya know). Using the sandbag from the question before (represented by the ----) and both the Tyranid Warrior and Guardsman (represented by T and G respectivly). Would LoS now be blocked?
Does the Warriors height have anything to do with this? Does it ever?



T


-------


G
 
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top