Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Dancing Peanuts? You bet!
Joined
·
1,350 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was playing a friend 1000 points with my Orks yesterday, and he was using lost and the damned. He had a rogue psyker (from the back of the witch hunters codex) with the power "puppet dance". This is a REALLY harsh power, as it caused all 30 orks from 1 mob to fight a round of combat against itself.

Now my question is this, for anyone that knows - Can the power be used when the psyker is in close combat? It doesn't specify you can or can't.

thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
355 Posts
It says that you use it during the assault phase instead of assaulting (p. 40 C:WH). Page 52 of the BBB has the rules for Psychic powers, but it doesn't say that you can't use them in an assault. It sounds like you could use them in an assault although you wouldn't be able to make a close combat attack with that model. I would assume that initiative also comes into play so it might be possible to kill the psyker before he could use his power.

Puppet Dance sounds a lot tougher than the SM Fury of the Ancients. I'm suprised this hasn't come up sooner. Cursed chaos scum! The Emperor protects...
 

·
Too Sexy For My Whirlwind
Joined
·
1,148 Posts
You know he can't actually use the powers and units from the back of the Witchhunters codex unless he's actually playing against Witch hunters. Not even if he's playing LatD. Those units and rules are only for an army fighting against witch hunters and never anyone else. So unless you personally consented to him using them when its not generally legal he was cheating.

And on a side note all three of the powers available to rogue psykers are pretty gross.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,023 Posts
Lord Malachi said:
It says that you use it during the assault phase instead of assaulting (p. 40 C:WH). Page 52 of the BBB has the rules for Psychic powers, but it doesn't say that you can't use them in an assault. It sounds like you could use them in an assault although you wouldn't be able to make a close combat attack with that model. I would assume that initiative also comes into play so it might be possible to kill the psyker before he could use his power.
Actually, page 52 says they follow ALL shooting rules, unless specified otherwise. So, while it can be cast in the assault phase, it doesn't say it may be used in CC. Further, as pointed out, those are only usable against witchhunters. And lastly, init has nothing to do with it, since you can't cast it in the first place when in cc.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
355 Posts
tarzen said:
Actually, page 52 says they follow ALL shooting rules, unless specified otherwise. So, while it can be cast in the assault phase, it doesn't say it may be used in CC. Further, as pointed out, those are only usable against witchhunters. And lastly, init has nothing to do with it, since you can't cast it in the first place when in cc.
So a SM Librarian can't use Might of Heroes while in cc? It also is cast in the assault phase. Hmm, that's odd. You are correct about taking a Rouge Psyker against Orks. It can't be done unless both players had agreed to it before the game started.
 
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
Top