Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
65 Posts
Being a monstrous creature the Daemon Prince can fire (and this bit is important) 2 different weapons a turn, but not the same weapon twice.

So, if it has two shooty psychic powers (Note, only Tzeentch Daemon Prince's may select two powers) then it may fire each psychic power once per turn. It cannot use the same psychic power twice, because that would be the same as firing the same weapon twice.

Hope that helps,
wb
 

·
The other Kind of Fluff
Joined
·
8,843 Posts
Being a monstrous creature the Daemon Prince can fire (and this bit is important) 2 different weapons a turn, but not the same weapon twice.

So, if it has two shooty psychic powers (Note, only Tzeentch Daemon Prince's may select two powers) then it may fire each psychic power once per turn. It cannot use the same psychic power twice, because that would be the same as firing the same weapon twice.

Hope that helps,
wb
Side: When using a familiar, non-Tzeentch daemon princes *can* obtain more than one psi power.

The rule you stated above is not the reason a Tzeentch prince can use two psi powers a turn, but rather, because it's stated in his profile (as an exception).

Quick rundown (paraphrased from my brother, Platypus):

"The Monstrous Creature rule states that you can fire 2 weapons per tun. Your assumption is that you can use 2 psychic power per turn so long as they both still follow the rules for shooting; however, this is not the case, because you are still limited by the BGB from only using one psychic power per turn.

Furthermore, the rule for psychic powers says that unless otherwise stated all psychic power follow the normal rules for shooting."
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
65 Posts
Side: When using a familiar, non-Tzeentch daemon princes *can* obtain more than one psi power.
I wasn't aware Daemon Prince's could take familiars in the new codex. Unfortunately my friends borrowed my codex for the week, so I can't check.

The rule you stated above is not the reason a Tzeentch prince can use two psi powers a turn, but rather, because it's stated in his profile (as an exception).
I only meant to point out that the Tzeentch daemon prince is the only one capable of taking two psychic powers (unless of course you are right about princes taking familiars).

you are still limited by the BGB from only using one psychic power per turn
I should have remembered that. Though after checking the BGB entry for psychic powers (pg.52) I don't actually see anything limiting you to using only one psychic power per turn. (though that is how my friends and I have always played it, especially with the existence of wargear like Ahrimans black staff) Is there another entry on psychic powers? Or am I missing something?
 

·
Has a monkey!
Joined
·
1,630 Posts
I wasn't aware Daemon Prince's could take familiars in the new codex. Unfortunately my friends borrowed my codex for the week, so I can't check.
They can't. As Rabbit said.

I only meant to point out that the Tzeentch daemon prince is the only one capable of taking two psychic powers (unless of course you are right about princes taking familiars).
Tzeentchian Sorcerors (but not Aspiring Sorcerors from TS units) can take more than one power, as it states in their entry that 'models with the Mark of Tzeentch may take one additional power.'

I should have remembered that. Though after checking the BGB entry for psychic powers (pg.52) I don't actually see anything limiting you to using only one psychic power per turn. (though that is how my friends and I have always played it, especially with the existence of wargear like Ahrimans black staff) Is there another entry on psychic powers? Or am I missing something?
This one's actually in the Chaos Codex itself. 'A psyker may only attempt to use on psychic power per turn,' on page 88. Exception made for models with the MoT, with standard firing restrictions.
 
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
Top