The thing is, since the core of the Daemonhunters army is GK, only use daemonhosts if you are not making daemonhunters as your main army. IG is a great army to incorperate them in and they can go in a space marines army too.
Your wrong Long Shot, go to page 21, on the lower left hand side it says that only basic versions of these troops may be used, no variants of any kind may be incorperated into a DH army.
So you can use Space Marines, just not BA or BT or any imparticular chapter. or you can use just Guards but not Cadians or such. They don't get the special rules if put into a DH army as allies.
So, i'm afraid your the one who is playing the game wrong, I assume your just gonna say Nah to this like when I pointed you were wrong with the terminators huh
So, you assume because I follow the rules that I know nothing? interesting logic there.
The fact is that there is nothing preventing someone using deamon hosts and SM in the same army, no rule (as far as I can find) and nothing that could stop someone from doing so, so don't tell people they can't use SM and Deamon hosts in the same army when they can and its perfectly fine according to the rules.
It might be unfluffy if you had BT SMs as allies to your DHs, but they aren't really BTs as they have none of the special rules that make them.. well BTs, they could be "Super Ultra Pinkoid ******" chapter, it doesn't matter if they are DH allies!
A chapter is just a title without the special rules, its just a name for the allies.
No, you haven't cleared up anything, i'd like proof rather then your word, its a simple request.
the SM allies rule negates all special rules when SM become DH allies, I don't know if thats what you mean, but they default to normal SMs, nothin special about them, no matter the chapter (They all become UMs rulewise anyways ) .
Where are these chapter restrictions you speak of? Page of the SM Codex or some other reference? I believe you are correct, fluff wise it makes alot of sense but i'm interested if there is a rule against the use of SM with DH/Deamonhosts.
EDIT: I'm not trying to be offencive or anything btw, I just like knowing for sure rules so I can help others with them/know them myself for sure
It's the return of the classical rules or options conflict basically.
Salamanders can take two flamers. That's an option.
Dark angels always go for fallen angels. That's a rule.
And my best friend (he's been playing SMs for 3 years now or something, and even I have a small unit of white consuls) says that the chapter restriction isn't technically a rule, but in just reality it is because of the narrative.
The gene-seed's gotta' come from somewhere.
So, basically not having your SMs belong to a chapter IS allowed, but it makes absolutely no frellin' sense, and gets even more messed up when you consider they're in the prescence of an inquisitor.
When you use daemonhosts, you can't use the chapters that are considered to be pious. Because, roolzboys forgot to write in "Grey knights or puritan chapters." Like, three words. That's it.
So, Ultramarines, Dark Angels, Blood angels etc. Aren't allowed.
The more shadowy chapters that ARE on the imperiums side but are under constant scrutiny and not trusted kind of thing are the ones you have to use.
So, like relictors, or Legions of the Damned.
This could very well make it even more confusing, so it comes down to your jurisdiction.
A forum community dedicated to Wargamers, Wargaming 40K enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about Warhammer and Wargaming collections, miniatures, tactics, terrain, reviews, accessories, history, displays, models, styles, scales, reviews, accessories, classifieds, and more!