Librarium Online Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
290 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I thought when in the deamon hunters codex it said DA may take units from the DA codex as long as they ignored the hunting the fallen rule i could field an assassin with my army. I happen to like assassins and since the only reason I'm a DA player is the Naaman model and their dreen armour, well i don't really care about that article of fluff.


But now today i get told i can only take an assassin if i also have an inquisitor along the way!


----- CAUTION ------
The following is a mindless rant from me being pissed, read at your own peril!




GW charges so damn much, you'd think they could hire an english major to edit their books for them. Maybe make it possible to play a game by reading the prmary rules rather then seearching out every little obscure detail.


I was gonna collect an eldar army next, but after the ambiguity i ran into today and not being able to stay on top of the rules without signing my life away to white dwarf, as well as every codex ever made, as well as the time required to digest all that info.

Well F***! GW just lost $300-$400 (which oddly enough would pale in comparison to the cost of all the codexes, chapter approved, and white dwarf subscriptions) from what i would have ended up puting into that damn eldar army, but since i have no idea what all the hidden rules are nor do i know when they might change, how can i hope to dsesign an appropriate army?



Is it just me, or was there a statement in the rule book that once you got the rule book, some dice and the templates, and made an army, you'd have all you needed to play a game? apparently not.



Anyone wanna play chess some time? last i heard those rules have been the same for the last century or 2
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
290 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Originally posted by Suns@May 3 2003, 22:54
Damn it, you meen you have to have an inquisitor now to field an assassin?!?! That sucks!
well, i think it only applies to DA
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
301 Posts
Originally posted by BorninDarkness@May 4 2003, 06:42
Actually the rules for chess haven't changed in the last 5 centuries :p .
Wow, 5 centuries. Only if Games Workshop would not change their rules...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
182 Posts
i agree with u on everything under the caution line rtsposer

heh...ive got eldar, tau, ig, and dark angels, and i am only able to barely comprehend the tau rules, and games workshop is too damned expensive
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
44 Posts
The rules for Assassins in the Daemonhunters codex applies to a Daemonhunters army. If you want to add Daemonhunters to your army, and you want an assassin then you would need an inquisitor, as it states in the book.

If you use the Assassins Codex, you wouldn't need one.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
290 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Originally posted by Darkness@May 11 2003, 18:21
If you use the Assassins Codex, you wouldn't need one.
is there an exempton for the dark angels in the assassin's codex, as there is in the DH one?

are the rules different for vindicare assassins from codex assassins and codex DH?

cause the thing was that the DA have that specail rule (which technically speaking ought to be void since they no longer have an "imperial agents" list anymore...)

if its as simple as you can't use an assassin unless you buy the assassin's codex rather then the DH codex, when the rules are the same, then thats it, I'm walking here and now...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
130 Posts
hahah guys, stuff it. just take the damn inquis/assassin combo in your DA armies, and leave it to the other player to prove you wrong, rather than you trying to come up with a story - let them.

if you are proven wrong, just apologise and swap the assassin with 5 tact guys or something... if you're not.. then game on :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
539 Posts
Say the DH units are from the DH codex.
Say the assassin is from the Assassins codex.
Case closed.

EDIT: In case you don't know what I'm saying, I mean forget about DH Inquisitor requirement by simply saying you used the Assassins codex to get them.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
178 Posts
If you ever played rogue trader you wouldnt likely be complainling about GW updateing the rules... i own rogue trader and a lot of the suplements, second edition and ALL the supliments, third and alot of the supliments, and im looking forward to 4th edition.. the game only gets better. and i agree with above you only need an inquisitor in a daemon hunter army. otherwise you take out of the assassin codex.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
dark angels are evil they can replace their lascannons for plasma cannons for no extra cost and in every white dwarf battle report they allways seem to have a vindicator.
the best one is the four way chaos space marines, tyriands,orks and dark angels.
that was cool.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
I don't know what the DH says about this, but as mentioned above, you can field DA (as allies) in a DH army ???

If so, than you can use an assassin with your DH army.
Because you have the assassin as part of your DH force and the DA are "supporting" the DH force.

If the DH codec doesn't specifically say you can use DA, then you cannot field DA as part of a DH force. (I mean if the DH codec states something about Space Marines as allies, but not specifically mentions which chapters).

The DA codec states that a DA force will not fight alongside other races/chapters etc., which means you cannot field any allies. This means you cannot use an assassin. This also means you cannot use DA as allies (only if YOUR codec specifically mentions you CAN use DA).

So, as said, if codec DH says you can field DA, than you can field an assassin.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
717 Posts
People go to the Q and A on the games workshop website. Codex Demonhunters does NOT override Codex Assassins. There is so much useful information on the GW website
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top