Librarium Online Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to 40k and have been looking at the diffrent army. after looking at chaos and deamonhunters i finally decided to do dark angels.

after buying the dark angels codex i was dissapointed to see the lack of history in it. i was just wondering if anyone knew where i could find some history on them and there primarch lion el'johnson.

·
Registered
290 Posts
as was pointed out to me, check the 'fluff bible' in the download section of this forum. There is a whole thing explaining the beginings and rise of the primarch and that whole 'hidden shame' that the newest codex does a piss poor job of covering.

Word of warning you have to look for the correct section in that text document, its about half way down though.

·
Registered
3,580 Posts
Failing that, buy the first Index Astartes book, it covers several chapters including DA, and I think pretty in-depth (though I haven't seen 2nd edition codex so I can't comment I guess). Aside of DA it also has WS, IW, EC, FT (flesh tearers) and I think something else... oh yeah stuff on dreadnoughts and librarians. Tis a very interesting book (as is Index Astartes 2).

·
Registered
581 Posts
Yeah, the 2nd ed. Angels of Death Codex is a great source if you can get your hands on it, and the First Index Astartes book.

The Dark Angels homeworld (Caliban) was torn apart by the warp, I believe at the time of the betrayal thing when a bunch of the Dark Angels betrayed to Chaos. I think there was a warp storm brought about by that and the planet was torn apart. If memory serves (I'll check this later tonight) their Fortress Monestary's shields held a chuck of Caliban together, and they converted that chunk with the monestary into a mobile starship called The Rock which they fly around in now.

·
Registered
3,580 Posts