Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all,

I've only played a few games with the Dark Elves, so I'm just learning the army. I'm also new to FB as well. I'm finding myself going up against opponents who play Britonians, WoC, and empire (lots of troops with 2+ armor saves)

I use reapers, CoK, BG and the odd greatweapon to deal with this, but i'm wondering what people think of the banner of murder? What are some effective ways of using it? Does it work better with units that have a low S rating like Corsairs or maybe Dark Riders? Or is it better used to buff units like BG to just to give them that extra punch?

Anyway, ANY dirty tricks vs. armor would be much appreciated.

·
Registered
326 Posts
Banner of murder works best when you need to stretch a few percentage points. So any unit that has low enough strength to need it and high enough volume to make good use of it are great places for it. Personally that means only witches make use of it in my army. With 3 attacks with frenzy, and the fact they wound quite a bit more than s3 should (due to poison) they are by far the best unit to use it. Corsairs are OK with it, but since they only get 2 attacks, and no poison, they aren't as good for it, in fact 2 ranks of spears is the same thing.

One of the reasons why I am a big proponent of a strong magic phase is how good lore of metal is against the true heavy armor units. So having 8 or so power dice with lore of metal as an option is a great way to deal with armor. Also the manbane rending star assassin can really put the hurt on heavy armored units, with his T+2 strength thrown weapons.

·
Registered
691 Posts
but you can't always count on it either.

For you dealing with these high armor save armies, you do have several options: